Happy {Long} Weekend + Links I Love


Fresh summer fruit

Happy weekend everyone! I got back from Florida on Tuesday night and I’m still fighting jet lag.

I’ve been dreaming about Ontario peaches all week long. Yesterday, I stumbled upon a farmers’ market downtown and stocked up on my favourite summer fruit! This weekend, I’m hopping the ferry over to Toronto Islands for rollerblading and relaxing by the water. It’s the perfect way to get away from the city without actually leaving the city.

Got any fun weekend plans? Whatever you end up doing, I hope you have a wonderful time. As always, a few of my favourite links this week…

+ Love this post on the most buzzworthy summer foods in NYC!

+ Summer weekend getaway to Bruce County has me planning my next road trip. Watch the video here!

+ Glamour x The Tig: Speak Up. “Even after eight years of public speaking practice before I shared my story with over 15,000 people at WE Day, my knees felt like Jell-O and my heart pounded out of my chest. However, regardless of how I felt, I embraced the fear and remembered that it was my responsibility to have the courage and determination to raise my voice.” I can definitely relate to this after sharing my cancer story at Toronto Relay For Life back in June. My hands wouldn’t stop shaking and I got all emotional, but it was 150% worth it!

+ A great reminder: We have permission to rest.

+ ‘Staten Island will not forget my father’: An interview with Erica Garner. On what she’d be doing if she weren’t being a civil rights activist: “I found my calling. I’ve been searching for years trying to figure out what I want to do. Now that this happened to my dad and people are so eager to hear the message that I’m sending, I’ve found my calling and it uplifts me and it helps me a lot.”

+ The most stunning photos on an Idaho ranch. Also loving Julia’s striped off-the-shoulder top!

+ Long read for your weekend: Chef David Chang’s unified theory of deliciousness. “The Momofuku Pork Bun was our first dish that consistently got this kind of reaction. It was an 11th-hour addition, a slapped-together thing. I took some pork belly, topped it with hoisin sauce, scallions, and cucumbers, and put it inside some steamed bread. I was just making a version of my favorite Peking duck buns, with pork belly where the duck used to be. But people went crazy for them. Their faces melted. Word spread, and soon people were lining up for these buns.” I recently had the pleasure of trying the Momofuku Pork Bun from Momofuku Noodle Bar here in Toronto.

+ This article from Stanford Medicine is well worth the read. Come together: How social support aids physical health. “Social connection, especially in the face of illness, I think is a very powerful ally. It helps us manage our stress responses, it helps our bodies do better and helps us to help one another get through life-threatening situations. It makes complete sense.”

+ Summery treat: Acai waffle sundae.

+ Because I am feeling peachy these days: The S’meach cocktail and pineapple peach agua fresca!

+ And just in case you missed it: Michelle Obama’s emotional speech at the Democratic National Convention.

+ Favourites on Instagram this week: Expect the unexpected via @muenchmax, In awe of it all via @laurenswells, Last night Michelle Obama electrified much of America, but there’s at least one person who wasn’t thrilled via @jordanmatter, Forward looking via @extensionmethod, The ocean spray is my fountain of youth via @erubes1, Another round via @lesspressed.

Summer reading update:

On Sunday, I started reading Noah Hawley’s suspense-filled psychological novel, The Good Father and I’m almost done. Unputdownable, beautifully told, utterly heartbreaking, and incredibly realistic.

I am also making my way through A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams. I am a huge fan of all her historical novels.

Last night, I picked up Food and the City by Ina Yalof and I am in love. A fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the people who make up the heart and soul of New York’s food world—professional chefs, restaurateurs, line cooks, food vendors, and purveyors.

(Photo snapped at the farmers’ market downtown yesterday evening.)

Leave a comment