Happy Weekend + Links I Love


064

Happy Sunday, everyone. I hope you’re having a beautiful weekend. Can you believe it’s the middle of July already? I’ve been checking items off my summer bucket list and making every moment count. I kicked off the weekend with a girls’ night complete with beer, strawberry rhubarb ice cream sandwiches, adult colouring, and karaoke. We had a blast and I really hope no one caught our performance of ‘Bye Bye Bye’ on video!

This week I’m taking a quick trip to Florida so I’ll be spending the rest of the day packing. Do you have any summer travel plans?

If you’re in the mood for some Internet browsing, here’s a roundup of my favourite links from the past week…

+ Humans of New York is the best. “We both know this could become one of those iconic photos. This could be one of those photos that they study one day: ‘Pretty Handsome Brother On The Corner With Obama Phone and $150 Watch.’ And we both know that if I wasn’t so statuesque, this photo never would have happened.”

+ 3 apps for planning your Instagram feed. I’m excited to try these out!

+ For all the adventure seekers: A sneak peek of the new zipwire ride over the Canadian side of Niagara Falls. The line opened on July 15.

+ Creamy coconut almond breakfast pops! Breakfast just got better.

+ Where books are all but nonexistent. “As an experiment, Neuman and her team—with funding from JetBlue, which also helped fund her latest research—set up a vending machine in a busy area in Anacostia last summer where kids could pick up books for free. Within six weeks, according to Neuman, 27,000 books were given away. “It’s designed to say to people, ‘strike down that notion that these people don’t care about their children’—they deeply care,” she said. “What they lack are the resources to enable their children to be successful.”

+ Watch: What happens to lost luggage? In case you’ve ever wondered.

+ Long read: When caregivers harm: Problem nurses stay on the job as patients suffer.

+ Another long read: The very quiet foreign girls poetry group. “Now, I was going to make a group of them. Students tempered by loss – but not just that. I wanted those turned inward instead of outward, the quiet sort. Ones who read, of course, and preferably in two languages. And then something harder to describe: the ones who, whether they had arrived months or years previously, still seemed to live in two worlds and two languages.”

+ I need to try this gelato flavour!

+ Favourites from Instagram this week: Just trying to pose like the cheeky fella in the background via @meghanmarkle, If I could be on the water every day via @melsays, Out here on location: misty and mystified via @margaret_zhang

Summer reading update:

On Thursday night I stayed up late to finish No One Knows. If you’re looking for a fast read that will keep you guessing, look no further.

I’ll be packing A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams for my Florida trip. I love all Williams’s books especially The Secret Life of Violet Grant and Tiny Little Thing.

(Photo of Strawberry Thai Basil Juniper gelato snapped at Union Summer.)

Leave a comment