Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Union Summer

It’s the weekend and after a busy week I’m looking forward to doing absolutely nothing. Here in Toronto, it’s been hot and sticky with temperatures reaching 100-plus degrees. I’ve been beating the heat with scoops of gelato (I tried strawberry thai basil juniper and piña colada. Yum!) and slices of juicy watermelon.

This week has been filled with so much tragedy and I’m still trying to sift through my thoughts and feelings. For now, I’m keeping those who have been affected by the senseless violence in my prayers.

I hope you have a good weekend. Whatever you end up doing, stay safe! And as always, the links I’m loving lately…

+ Must read: Misty Copeland’s exclusive interview with Washington Life Magazine. She reflects on her upcoming performance in “Romeo and Juliet” at Wolf Trap, her Time magazine interview with President Obama, and her dancewear line which launches this summer.

+ Be you, you are enough: our Salt Flats videos. Colour lovers, rejoice!

+ No-churn sugar roasted peach pie ice cream? Yes please!!

+ Listen: From Captive to Captor: A Journalist’s Journey from Prisoner to Prison Guard. Mother Jones reporter Shane Bauer’s story “provides a rare, harrowing look at the closed world of private prisons — a system that holds 131,000 people nationwide. What he saw still haunts him: men stabbing each other with handmade knives as guards looked on; officers in tactical gear storming the prison’s dormitories; an assault victim writhing in panic as he pleaded for protection from a predatory inmate; a prisoner whose gangrene went untreated so long he had to have his legs amputated. But of all the alarming things Bauer experienced, perhaps the most frightening was the transformation he noticed within himself.”

+ Loved this post on Design Sponge: The myth of being busy: Making time off a priority.

+ A rookie film director takes on Salinger. “At the corner of Jersey and Crosby Streets in SoHo, during one of those New York City days when it suddenly feels way too hot, the sun was blazing down and a tang of urine wafted up. Traffic had been halted, passers-by were hoisting selfie sticks, and, huddled in a building’s shadow, a film crew was taking in a scene from a different time.”

+ Wendy’s photoshoot in Venice. Soooo dreamy!

+ Meghan shared 5 classic adventure books for your summer reading list.

+ Hydra, Greece sounds like a pretty perfect vacation spot.

+ Instagram stars share their secrets to an amazing feed. Will Taylor of @brightbazaar says, “Create a balanced feed by alternating between posting a perspective photo and then a close up image.”

+ Favourites from Instagram this week: Queen bee via @karolinakuras, Rise up. Stand for something, or you will fall for anything via @latonyayvette, Trying to fill this day up with so much love amidst so much tragedy via @jenpinkston, Racism in America is very real via @songofstyle, Just peachy via @karliekloss,  Welcome to my home for the next 24 hrs via @melsays, Mother daughter time via @reesewitherspoon

Summer reading update:

+ Earlier this week, I finished Elin Hilderbrand’s latest summer novel, Here’s to Us. Throw this one in your beach bag!

+ On Wednesday night, I finished My Sunshine Away by M.O. Walsh and I can’t stop thinking about it. A beautifully crafted mystery that grabbed me from page one and held on tight until the very end.

+ On Thursday night I cracked open No One Knows by J.T. Ellison and it’s safe to say I’m hooked!

(Photo snapped outside Union Summer culinary market at Union Station.)

Leave a comment