Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Block Party

Happy Friday everyone! I hope your week was a productive one and you’re ready to kick back and relax this weekend. I just can’t get enough of these summer weekends! Got any fun plans? Toronto Jazz Fest kicks off this weekend and I’ll be meeting up with my girls at Nathan Philips Square tonight for the free opening night concert. On Sunday I’ll be doing an urban scavenger hunt (which is item number one on my summer bucket list). Have you ever done one?

Whatever your plans, I hope you have a good one! If you’re looking for some reads, here are my favourite links from this week…

+ The mission trip that seemed wrong but God made right. “As I sat in this foreign hospital, listening to everyone speak a different language around me, taking in the moment, I felt a strange comfort that God was with me, even in that unfamiliar place.”

+ A little Humans of New York love. “I finished Pre-K. The best part was playing and having friends. The worst part was doing work because that’s boring.”

+ Spicy mango margarita poptails! Perfect for a summertime girls’ night.

+ 17 never-before-heard details about ‘The Devil Wears Prada’. #3, #4, #5, and #15! I’m not ashamed to admit I’ve watched this at least 50 times. One of my favourite movies for sure!

+ Long read: The Last Bastion of Outdoor Outlaws. “The Fruit Bowl is a peninsula in the sky perched some 400 extremely vertical feet above the Green River, about a mile and a half off Mineral Canyon Road and a 50-minute drive from Moab. The scene around it looked like a spring-break campout at a desert lake. Only instead of the water, people had positioned themselves near the gut-churning abyss.”

+ Garance’s post, Do Not Disturb made me laugh. Also, did you catch her on the Oh Boy podcast?

+ The Workplace of the Future: Brought to You by Art, Education, Travel, and Startups. “Companies and institutions alike are realizing that several of the design principles that enhance creativity, collaboration, wellness, and efficiency are universal when right-sized and strategically applied.”

+ Watch: A Syrian family finds refuge on a Swedish island.

+ Design Sponge gives us a peek inside Jessica Biel & Co.’s new LA restaurant, Au Fudge.

+ Bookmarking: The Eater Guide to the Whole Entire World.

+ Union Summer market kicks off on Monday June 27. Hellooooo summer!

+ Favourites from my Instagram feed this week: My kids wake up early and are on screens via @lovealways.anjuli, Perfect way to wake up via @winstonsih

Summer reading update:

+ On Wednesday night, I started Elin Hilderbrand’s latest novel, Here’s to Us.

+ Also making my way through M.O. Walsh’s debut novel, My Sunshine Away. I am loving the prose.

(Photo from TD Block Party outside Union Station.)

Leave a Reply

