The 100 Books I’m Reading in 2016


2016 reading list

For 2016, my goal is to read more good books.

On a daily basis, I discover so many books that spark my curiosity. I spot them on the MMD 2016 Reading Challenge board or the Best Bets section at the library. So when it came time to put together my list of 100 books, I found it unbelievably challenging. I kept changing my mind, but I’m finally satisfied with my picks. I’ll be crossing books off the list as I go along. Here’s my 2016 reading list…

Tales from the Back Row cover

Tales from the Back Row by Amy Odell
Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson
Descent by Tim Johnston
The Shell Seekers by Rosamunde Pilcher
Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town by Jon Krakauer
2 A.M. at The Cat’s Pajamas by Marie-Helene Bertino
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America by Barbara Ehrenreich
The Far Side of the Sky by Daniel Kalla
Stay Up With Me: Stories by Tom Barbash
Find Me Unafraid by Kennedy Odede & Jessica Posner
Punishment by Linden MacIntyre
The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith
The Plum Tree by Ellen Marie Wiseman
The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

When Breath Becomes Air cover

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
Last Night at the Lobster by Stewart O’Nan
A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal by Ben MacIntyre
The Reason You Walk by Wab Kinew
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness by Susannah Cahalan
The Scapegoat by Sophia Nikolaidou, translated by Karen Emmerich
Inside the O’Briens by Lisa Genova
Spin by Catherine McKenzie

What Alice Forgot cover

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty
The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty
Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty [Release Date: July 26, 2016]
The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
Saint Mazie by Jami Attenberg
Blood, Bones & Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef by Gabrielle Hamilton
Here’s to Us by Elin Hilderbrand [Release Date: June 14, 2016]
Unbecoming by Rebecca Scherm
If I Forget You by Thomas Christopher Greene [Release Date: June 14, 2016]
Rising Sun, Falling Shadow by Daniel Kalla
Nightfall Over Shanghai by Daniel Kalla

Homegoing

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi [Release Date: June 7, 2016]
Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Find Her by Lisa Gardner [Release: February 9, 2016]
The Neighbor by Lisa Gardner
When in French by Lauren Collins [Release Date: September 13, 2016]
The Mountain Story by Lori Lansens
The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe
Uninvited: Living Loved When You Feel Less Than, Left Out, and Lonely by Lysa TerKeurst [Release Date: August 9, 2016]
The Shell Collector: Stories by Anthony Doerr
The Royal We by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan
Alice & Oliver by Charles Bock [Release Date: April 5, 2016]
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

the-mothers

The Mothers by Brit Bennett [Release Date: October 11, 2016]
Love in Lowercase by Francesc Miralles, translated by Julie Wark [Release date: January 26, 2016]
No One Knows by J. T. Ellison [Release Date: March 22, 2016]
Michelle Obama: A Life by Peter Slevin
Lucky Us by Amy Bloom
The Making of a Chef: Mastering Heat at the Culinary Institute of America by Michael Ruhlman
My Sunshine Away by M.O. Walsh
You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott

Good as Gone by Amy Gentry [Release Date: July 26, 2016]
Tiny Little Thing by Beatriz Williams
A Hundred Summers by Beatriz Williams
Along the Infinite Sea by Beatriz Williams

I Let You Go

I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh
I See You by Clare Mackintosh
So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed by Jon Ronson
Gut: The Inside Story of Our Body’s Most Underrated Organ by Giulia Enders

Faithful by Alice Hoffman
In the Woods by Tana French
Hello From the Gillespies by Monica McInerney
Paris for One and Other Stories by Jojo Moyes
Louder Than Words: Harness the Power of Your Authentic Voice by Todd Henry
Dear Carolina by Kristy Woodson Harvey
The Accident by Chris Pavone
The Travelers by Chris Pavone

Before the Fall

Before the Fall by Noah Hawley [Release Date: May 31, 2016]
Left Neglected by Lisa Genova
Gold by Chris Cleave
Our Hearts Will Burn Us Down by Anne Valente [Release Date: October 4, 2016]

I Shall Be Near to You by Erin Lindsay McCabe
Internal Medicine: A Doctor’s Stories by Terrence Holt
Hard Choices by Hillary Rodham Clinton
The Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis
Lydia’s Party by Margaret Hawkins
Through the Glass by Shannon Moroney
All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker [Release Date: July 12, 2016]
The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister

Food and the City

Food and the City by Ina Yalof [Release Date: May 31, 2016]
The House We Grew Up in by Lisa Jewell
The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell [Release Date: June 7, 2016]
Read Bottom Up by Neel Shah & Skye Chatham
The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena [Release Date: August 23, 2016]
Where All Light Tends to Go by David Joy
The Nix by Nathan Hill [Release Date: August 30, 2016]
These Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf
The Weight of Silence by Heather Gudenkauf
Missing Pieces by Heather Gudenkauf
One Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf
The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd
On the Noodle Road: From Beijing to Rome with Love and Pasta by Jen Lin-Liu

Which books are you most excited to read in 2016? I’d love to hear in comments.

25 thoughts on “The 100 Books I’m Reading in 2016

  1. Liz says:

    What an amazing list! As a fellow MMD 2016 participant, plus someone also aiming to read more, and more quality this year, your choices supply much inspiration thank you! 😀

    • donzwebb says:

      I’m happy to hear that my list inspired you, Liz! Have you narrowed down your picks for the challenge yet? I would love to hear which books you’ll be reading! Thanks for stopping by!

    • Leah says:

      I”ve read 7 from your list, and ‘In a Dark Dark Wood’, ‘When Breath Becomes Air’, & ‘Where All Light Tends to Go’ were favorites. Some others I”ve enjoyed this year are: ‘My Name is Lucy Barton’ by Strout, ‘Run You Down’ by Dahl, ‘The Song of Hargrove Hall’ by Solomons, ‘As You Wish’ by Elwes, ‘Kiss Me First’ by Moggach, & ‘Not My Father’s Son’ by Cumming

      • donzwebb says:

        Thanks for stopping by Leah. I finished When Breath Becomes Air last weekend. I’m looking forward to reading ‘In a Dark, Dark Wood’ which I only heard about this year and ‘Where All Light Tends to Go’ which I’ve been meaning to reading since its release last year. Thanks for sharing your favourites! I haven’t read any of those yet.:)

  2. Jackie Evans says:

    Be sure to read “The Things We Wish Were True”. I enjoyed it very much. I have read several of these books, also – a very good list!

    • donzwebb says:

      Thanks Jackie! I am hoping to read “The Things We Wish Were True” this fall, but both the bookstore and library don’t have it. I might end up ordering it online. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Celia Phillips says:

    Thank you for sharing this awesome list. I have read or plan to read about 25 of the books on your list. My favorite books this year are A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara and A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles. Do you have time for 102 books??

    • donzwebb says:

      You’re welcome, Celia! Thanks for the recommendations! I’m currently on book #68 now so I’ve got a ways to go. But I’ll definitely add your recommendations to next year’s reading list!

  4. Amy says:

    Since I’ve came across your list I have read the following books(Asterisks next to the ones from this list). I looked up every book to see if they were at my library, and then made the list my own by sorting them by number of pages, and adding other books in between like the Harry Potter series. This will keep my busy for a while, but I’ve enjoyed every book so far.
    Last Night at the Lobster by Stewart O’Nan ***
    Confusion-Elizabeth Jane Howard
    Their Eyes Were Watching God-Zora Neale Hurston ***
    Casting Off-Elizabeth Jane Howard
    Love in Lowercase- Frances Miralles, trans by Julie Wark ***
    When Breath Becomes Air-Paul Kalanithi ***
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone-J. K. Rowling
    Between You & Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen-Mary Norris ***
    Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting by in America-Babara Ehrenreich ***
    Harry Potter and the Chambers of Secrets-J. K. Rowling
    I Was Told There’d Be Cake: Essays-Sloane Crosley ***
    Tales from the Back Row by Amy Odell ***
    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban-J. K. Rowling
    The Central Park Five-Sarah Burns
    Lucky Us-Amy Bloom ***
    The Twelve Tribes of Hattie-Ayana Mathis ***
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire(currently reading)

Leave a Reply

