Happy Weekend + Links I Love


marie claireHappy weekend friends. As I type this post, I am feeling extra cozy in flannel pajamas and thick socks. Last night, a friend and I had a spur-of-the-moment feast at this Indian restaurant in our neighbourhood. While I am trying to make an effort to cook at home more often, it’s important to treat ourselves once in a while.

I can’t wait to put the hundreds of slow cooker recipes on my Fall Eats and Treats board to the test.

It’s hard to believe we’ve officially hit the holiday season. While I believe we should be thankful all year ’round, I am especially aware of how truly blessed I am around the holidays. For me, the holidays are all about expressing gratitude and giving back. Last year, my friends and I handed out blessing bags to the homeless. This year, I’ll be volunteering at a homeless shelter downtown.

Got any fun weekend plans? Have you started your holiday shopping yet? If you’re spending some time online, here’s a look at what I’ve been reading this week. Happy clicking!

+ ‘Tis the season: Lauren Conrad shares 10 ways we can give back this holiday season.

+ And if you live in New York, The New York Times Neediest Cases Fund provides direct assistant to struggling New Yorkers. The annual campaign runs through January 23rd. This profile on Elaine Baez moved me to tears: Amid years of psychiatric turmoil, a glue gun helps keep her life intact.

+ The Internet is exploding with holiday gift guides. My favourite? Victoria’s shiny and bright Holiday Shop complete with gift giving, wrapping, entertaining and decorating tips and ideas.

+ The most adorable holiday campaign ever: The always adorable Anna Kendrick is the face of kate spade new york’s holiday 2o14 campaign. This week, the brand unveiled its interactive holiday ad, ‘The Waiting Game’. Cuteness overload.

+ Even more Anna Kendrick: The aca-anticipated Pitch Perfect 2 trailer came out this week.

+ Cure everything that ails you with essential oil. I am most intrigued by Frankincense and its blemish-clearing powers.

+ Everyone’s going mad for plaid: How to wear plaid in a simple way, 10 ways to look pretty in plaid, and mixing plaid.

+ “I was there at the capitol, fighting for the rights of women. It never crossed my mind I would be fighting for my own.” This Medium post, Denied stirred up so many different emotions.

+ “Cause darling, I’m a nightmare dressed like a daydream”. I can’t get T-Swift’s “Blank Space” out of my head and I’m not ashamed to admit I’ve watched the video at least a hundred times this week.

A guaranteed laugh: Garance’s thoughts on our obsession with texting.

+ Listen up: Fresh Air contributor Dave Davies chats with Bennett Miller about the making of ‘Foxcatcher’.

+ For all my American readers: What the heck to make for Thanksgiving, 11 Thanksgiving tips and tricks, how to brine a turkey, how to fix lumpy gravy, and DIY Thanksgiving pear place cards.

+ Finally, get 25% off one regular priced item in-store and online at Indigo, Chapters and Coles until Sunday. I am loving this faux fur snood, this gold cursive monogram mug and this super cozy plaid throw.

(Photo of Anna Kendrick from Marie Claire)

Leave a comment