Happy Weekend + Links I Love


easter-weekend-sunset

Happy first weekend of March, everyone! Spring made an appearance here in Toronto, but that was short-lived. We’re back in the deep freeze again (Right now, it’s -13 celcius with the windchill!) How are you spending the weekend? I fell behind on my winter reading and I’ve got a stack of books to cozy up with this weekend. Read any good books lately?

I hope you make the time to rest this weekend. I came across so many good things on the Internet this week and as always, I’m sharing them with you. Enjoy!

+ Too Busy (not) To Pray. I read this post while waiting in the blood lab this week. Perfect timing as always. “My so-called “busyness” is often the culprit of my lack of joy, lack of flexibility, and lack of a peaceful heart. But, still, even knowing this, I say things like “I have too much to do,” and then scurry past the most importance task of just sitting with the Lord.”

+ Amanda followed me on Instagram recently and I am so happy she did. She’s just so real and encouraging. This post: Our wedding and love story is well worth the read. I cried in public.

+ You may want to marry my husband. This Modern Love feature also made me cry. Luckily, I read it at home.

+ Interior designer Magalie René-Hayes shares her 10 tips for transitioning careers quickly. I am thinking about changing careers so this post came at the perfect time. Thanks, Design Sponge!

+ The Cup of Jo team asked people in their shared office space what they actually eat for lunch. Loved the responses.

+ Don’t Wait for Permission. Griffin opens up about how she was turned down when she first applied for her Pure Barre franchise and how she kept on chasing her dream. “Don’t wait for permission to think outside the box. I’m not talking about being dishonest or breaking the rules, but the people who go above and beyond don’t wait for approval.”

+ 10 healthy whole food swaps. Happy to see raw apple cider vinegar and tahini on the list!

+ I’ve been on a nut butter kick lately, but it’s so expensive. I’m considering making my own and this espresso almond cashew butter sounds incredible. Laura, you’re genius!

+ Sarah of My New Roots has a beautiful new cookbook out. On the wish list.

+ I just downloaded the prettiest free desktop wallpaper from Design Love Fest. Such a mood brightener.

+ Canada turns 150 this year. I downloaded Passport 2017, the Canada 150 events app this week. It’s the perfect way to get personalized recommendations and discover cool events happening in 2017!

+ I don’t care if it’s freezing out. I’m making these healthier, boozy chocolate chip cookie milkshakes this weekend! My favourite things rolled into one.

Reading update:

I picked up Zoe Whittall’s The Best Kind of People last night and it kept me up way past my bedtime.

I’m hoping to finish The Lonely Hearts Hotel this weekend. Highly recommend it if you’re in a historical fiction kinda mood.

Leave a Reply

