My Favourite Wellness Instagrammers


For years, I avoided Instagram. But at the end of 2015, I took the plunge and now I wonder how I ever lived without it. I can’t stop myself from snapping photos of any and everything. Most of all, I love connecting with like-minded people from all over the world.

This year, I’m focused on getting my health back on track and gaining weight in a healthy way. I’m making an extra special effort to eat more of what’s good for me, enjoy my favourite snacks (gelato, sea salt dark chocolate, caramel popcorn!) in moderation, rest when my body says so (I’m someone who pushes myself even when I’m sick or exhausted), stick to a workout routine, go on regular brunch dates with the girls, and let go of toxic relationships.

Today, I’m sharing the women who are inspiring me on my health journey…

vickie-c

Vickie Chountalos

Toronto-based Certified Nutritionist and CHEK Holistic Lifestyle Coach, Vickie Chountalos is one of those people you feel comfortable around the moment you meet them. I first met Vickie when Village Juicery opened up in my neighbourhood last year and we became instant friends. She is passionate about being in control, specifically when it comes to her health.

Instagram highlights: Uplifting posts on self-love and letting go of the things that are holding you back, stunning food photos, and delicious recipes that nourish the body and soul.

Follow Vickie on Instagram @theholisticboss and check out her website The Holistic Boss.

melissa-offner

Melissa Offner

Melissa is a content creator and world explorer with a passion for running, surfing, and the great outdoors. Last summer, I started following Melissa’s fitness journey and adventures on Instagram. Melissa suffered a back injury last year and took time off to heal. She handled this situation with such grace and positivity. She viewed it as an opportunity to learn and grow; perspective really does make all the difference. I’m so happy she has fully recovered and is back doing what she loves. Her attitude is infectious and she inspires me to kick fear to the curb and live fully!

Instagram highlights: Fitness and running inspo, outdoor adventures, travel, the most amazing murals, posts on self love, self-care, and acceptance.

Follow Melissa on Instagram @melsays and check out her website Melsays.

amanda-morgan

Amanda Morgan

Amanda Morgan is a clinical nutritionist and yoga instructor living between Connecticut and New York City. She is also the founder of the cleverly named wellness and lifestyle website, Healthy Wifestyle. Last night, I read through all of her posts on Instagram. Amanda doesn’t sugar coat anything and I don’t think I’ve encountered anyone as real, vulnerable, and encouraging as her in a really long time. It’s so refreshing! I love that she’s willing to talk openly about those issues women are too often afraid to talk about. She gives women the permission (and a safe space) to be 100% real about their fears and insecurities.

Instagram highlights: Real talk, tips on healthy relationships, yummy and good-for-you recipes, yoga, and travel.

Follow Amanda on Instagram @healthy_wifestyle and check out her blog Healthy Wifestyle.

ella-mills

Ella Mills

Ella Mills is the owner of The MaE Deli, writer of several cookbooks, and wellness advocate behind the hugely popular food blog, Deliciously Ella. I started following Ella’s wellness journey three years ago and she inspired me to give plant-based foods a fair try. Last spring, I had the pleasure of meeting Ella at the Toronto book signing for her second book, Deliciously Ella Everyday. She truly is a beautiful soul with a great sense of humour!

Instagram highlights: Real talk on social media and comparison, inspiring posts on self-love and self-care, simple plant-based recipes (and gorgeous photos of said recipes), behind-the-scenes of her business, yoga, and travel.

Follow Ella on Instagram @deliciouslyella and check out her blog Deliciously Ella.

mia-harris

Mia Harris

Two years ago, Mia Harris left her corporate job in banking to follow her heart for nutrition and helping people. And she’s never looking back. For the past 7 months, she’s been living her dream as a holistic nutritionist and lifestyle coach. Splitting her time between Los Angeles, CA and her home in Victoria, BC, Mia feels incredibly grateful that her job allows her to connect with awesome people from all around the world. She enjoys hiking, cooking, going to the beach, and she’s currently taking extra courses in women’s health.

Instagram highlights: Nourishing and delicious recipes, inspiring posts on eating well and following your dreams, nutrition tips, rainforest scenes, beach and sunset shots.

Follow Mia on Instagram @miaharrisnutrition and check out her website Mia Harris Nutrition. Mia has a blog in the works, so stay tuned!

mckel

McKel Hill

McKel Hill is a Nashville-based Registered Dietitian Nutritionist, wellness coach, and founder of the wildly popular Nutrition Stripped blog. I’ve been a regular reader for three years now and I drop everything when her weekly newsletter lands in my inbox. McKel is on a mission to “share simple recipes and actionable advice to make healthy living simple and available for anyone and everyone.”

Instagram highlights: Beautiful, delicious, and simple whole food recipes, nutrition tips, wellness advice, fitness motivation (workout playlists + videos), and food for thought.

Follow McKel on Instagram @nutritionstripped and check out her blog Nutrition Stripped.

griffin-mckenzie-hill

Griffin McKenzie Hill

Born and raised in Kentucky, Griffin now calls Colorado Springs home. A dancer for most of her life and a lover of kale and leggings, Griffin opened her studio Pure Barre Colorado Springs in 2014. She followed me on Instagram earlier this week and I’m so happy she did. The photos from her barre classes have inspired me to head back to the studio ASAP.

Instagram highlights: Real talk on body love and self-care, business posts, ski trips, and mountain views.

Follow Griffin on Instagram @griffinmckenzie and check out her blog Griffin McKenzie.

jordan-younger

Jordan Younger

Jordan Younger is a Los Angeles-based yoga teacher, wellness podcaster, and the blogger behind the wellness and lifestyle blog, The Balanced Blonde. A few weeks ago, one of her beautiful photos (a shot of her doing yoga on a beach in Bora Bora) popped up in my explore feed, so naturally I ended up scrolling through all her photos.

Instagram highlights: All things yoga, handstands, travel, yummy bowls of goodness, and natural beauty tips.

Follow Jordan on Instagram @thebalancedblonde, check out her blog The Balanced Blonde, and listen to her Soul on Fire podcast.

Are you on Instagram? What are your favourite accounts to follow? What are your 2017 goals and what keeps you motivated?  I’d love to hear in comments!

Leave a Reply

