Happy Weekend + Links I Love


discovery walk through Mount Pleasant Cemetery

Happy Sunday, everyone! I hope you’re enjoying what’s left of the weekend.

If you’re in the mood for some Internet browsing, I’ve got you covered with my favourite links from this week…

+ In case you missed it: President Obama’s farewell address. (Keep a box of tissues handy.)

+ And why President Obama’s tears matter. “For the past 25 years you have not only been my wife and mother of my children, you have been my best friend. You took on a role you didn’t ask for. And you made it your own with grace and with grit and with style, and good humor.”

+ Reese Witherspoon on sexism in Hollywood. “I feel like I constantly see women of incredible talent playing wives and girlfriends in thankless parts, I just had enough.” I am looking forward to the premiere of Big Little Lies next month!

+ My cousin got me hooked on this Netflix series. I find it really strange, but I can’t stop watching. Have you watched it? Thoughts?

+ I started listening to The Lively Show again this week. I found this episode incredibly relatable and inspiring. Energy, Flow, and Finding Adventure in Your Own Hometown with Rob Lawless.

+ Stolen good books: why Canadian thieves outclass the British. “They have a better class of book thief in Toronto. Whereas in the UK, Potters Harry and Beatrix, as well as travel guides, top the list of titles most likely to be stolen from bookshops, thieves working the aisles in the Canadian city are targeting Haruki Murakami’s work.”

+ I bought this book last year and I finally started reading it yesterday. It is SO good.

+ If you’re looking for recommendations, I shared my winter reading list this week.

Reading update:

I finished reading Fig by Sarah Elizabeth Schantz. I don’t usually read young adult novels, but this debut novel grabbed me from the opening line. Narrated by Fig, from ages six to nineteen, it’s a painfully authentic portrayal of life with mental illness and a mother-daughter relationship. One of the most fascinating books I’ve read in a while; I can’t stop talking about it.

I also read You Will Not Have My Hate by Antoine Leiris. After his wife Helene was killed in the Paris terrorist attacks, Leiris is left to pick up the pieces and care for his seventeen-month-old son. With honesty and vulnerability, he shares the story of his grief and struggle in the days and weeks after Helene’s murder. I was blown away by his decision to choose love over hate. A beautiful and important little book.

Leave a Reply

