Happy Weekend + Links I Love


the-mothers-by-brit-bennett

Merry Christmas, everyone! Sending lots of love to you and your loved ones. Got any big plans for the holiday weekend? I’ve got the sniffles and I’m fighting it off with this immunity shot, vitamin C, and lots of sleep.

Just sharing my favourite links from this week with you before I head off to enjoy the holiday with my family. I hope you enjoy…

+ How five ballerinas get ready for “The Nutcracker”.

+ Watch: Why aren’t we hiring more women in the film industry?

+ Octavia Spencer’s reaction to meeting President Obama is the BEST!

+ An Obama Administration speechwriter on the end of a literary presidency. So sad to think about.

+ I’m a full-time photographer because of Instagram. This is so inspiring. Such great tips!

+ This made me sad and angry. Bana Alabed, Twitter’s Child Witness to the Battle for Aleppo. “Soon after Fatemah’s exchange with Rowling, the author’s agent, Neil Blair, arranged to send Bana digital copies of all the Harry Potter books, to read on her mother’s smartphone. Bana was overjoyed. Hours after receiving the e-books, Fatemah posted a photo of the corpse of one of Bana’s friends, who had been killed that night in an explosion.”

+ Here are 7 ways you can help the people in Aleppo.

+ I’m a huge fan of Cup of Jo’s Beauty Uniform series. This week’s story with Paola Mathe is one of my favourites!

+ Anthony Bourdain’s post-election interview. “Are we any less racist now? Okay, some of the laws have changed. Great. But are we any less racist as a nation? I don’t know. I’m looking for some evidence right now and I don’t see it.

+ Can you spot the sheep among the Santas? It took me way longer than I thought it would!

+ Barack Obama on Race, Identity, and the Way Forward. The president in conversation with Ta-Nehisi Coates.

+ Long read for your weekend: For These Girls, Danger Is a Way of Life.

+ And in case you missed it, I rounded up my favourite nonfiction books in 2016. My favourite fiction picks coming up next week.

Reading update:

This week, my sweet blogger friend sent me a copy of The Mothers in the mail. I devoured it in two days. At this point, all I can say is that it blew me away and it’s one of the best books I’ve read in ages. Bennett has gifted us a timely, insightful, and thought-provoking novel written in the most gorgeous prose. I am already looking forward to Bennett’s next novel. (I hope there’s one in the works.)

(Photo snapped after receiving The Mothers in the mail this week.)

2 thoughts on “Happy Weekend + Links I Love

Leave a Reply

