Happy Weekend + Links I Love


christmas-in-bryant-park

Happy weekend, friends! Did you have a good week? It’s been a busy week for me and I can’t wait to just chill. I might check out the Toronto Christmas Market this weekend. I’m not in the Christmas spirit just yet, but I’m pretty sure apple cider, mulled wine, hot chocolate, and giant pretzels will do the trick.

Doing anything fun this weekend? If you’re in the mood for some Internet browsing, I’ve got you covered with my favourite links this week…

+ Exciting news: Zadie Smith’s ‘Swing Time’ is on its way to television.

+ 100 notable books of 2016. I’ve only read three from this list. How many have you read?

+ This great feature with one of my favourite actresses. Also loved this exclusive 128-second interview.

+ Obama reckons with a Trump Presidency.

+ Simone Biles on how she went from foster care to Olympic gold. “I’ve been brought up to never take anything for granted and to always be the best Simone—the best version of myself. From a very young age, they always believed in us and told us to believe in ourselves.”

+ Watch: A dialect coach analyzes the accents of some of Hollywood’s biggest actors.

+ I have been a Pinterest addict for years. Here’s how Pinterest is using artificial intelligence to keep the site’s 150 million-plus users pinning away.

+ I LOVED this book and my friend keeps raving about the TV series. Do you watch it?

+ I started following Benjamin Grant’s Instagram account, Daily Overview earlier this year and it’s quickly become one of my favourites. I can’t wait to get my hands on Grant’s new photography book, Overview. It’s on sale this weekend on Amazon when you use the code “HOLIDAYBOOK”.

+ Watch: Welcome to Canada. A Syrian refugee granted asylum in Canada starts his new life in Vancouver.

+ When it comes to lipstick, I usually stick to berry shades. But I am loving this red for the holiday season.

+ Glitter lips made an appearance at the Atelier Versace Fall 2016 show. Would you try it?

+ I’ve been hunting for the perfect booties for almost a year now. I was SO happy when I came across this pair while browsing this week and I snapped them up right away. They’re comfortable, they go with everything, and I got them at an unbelievable price!

+ Favourites from my Instagram feed this week: One of the best days of the year via @laurenswells

Reading update:

On Monday I picked up Faithful by Alice Hoffman. I read it in 24 hours. I highly, highly recommend it as the perfect book to curl up with.

I am making my way through Where All Light Tends to Go by David Joy. I am enjoying it so far.

(Photo snapped in Bryant Park last Christmas.)

Leave a Reply

