Happy Weekend + Links I Love


amber-leaves-in-sherwood-park

Happy weekend, friends and congrats on making it through the week. I made a conscious effort to smile at everyone I can across this week in the elevator, at the supermarket checkout, on the street. It really boosted my mood and I’m pretty sure it did the same for others.

Christmas is in the air! Shop windows are all decorated, Christmas trees are going up all over the city, and stores are playing Christmas tunes. Oh and the Toronto Christmas Market opened last night. It tends to get pretty crowded on the weekends, so I plan on going one evening after work to avoid the long lines. (Admission is free from Tuesday to Friday.) I’m praying that everyone doesn’t have the same idea!

I hope you have a wonderful weekend! As always, I’m sharing my favourite links and this week’s links are soooo good! Make yourself comfortable and enjoy…

+ 21 stunning photos of this year’s Supermoon from around the world. Did you see it? Loving #1, #4, #6, #11, #13, #17, 19.

+ Following the election, a New York photographer asked women in Grand Central Station the question: “What now?” The responses were pure gold.

+ Glamour honoured the Stanford sexual assault case survivor at the magazine’s Women of the Year awards.

+ And in case you missed it, the powerful essay she wrote for Glamour‘s  December issue.

+ Did you tune in to BET’s White House Party for the Obamas? Here are the highlights in case you missed it. Oh, and Michelle Obama singing along during Usher’s performance was just priceless. How can you not love them?

+ This movie comes out in a couple of weeks and I am so excited. It won the Platform Prize at the Toronto International Film Festival.

+ I’m always so moved by the stories of those who have benefited or may benefit from The New York Times Neediest Cases Fund. The fund provides direct assistance to those living on the streets, those who can’t afford their medical bills, children suffering from poverty and abuse, and young people looking for jobs, to name a few. A Times reporter reflects on what he learned from writing these stories. This year’s campaign runs through February 2017.

+ A complete timeline of Barack Obama’s most viral moments. Best. thing. ever.

+ A different approach to keeping young offenders out of prison. “Children as young as 13 can be tried in adult criminal court for serious crimes in New York state. But instead of redirecting troubled kids, prison hardens them. That’s why the New York Foundling, a private children’s-advocacy organization, offers an alternative, Families Rising, a diversionary option that mandates family therapy in exchange for delayed sentencing and avoiding a criminal record entirely if the program is completed successfully.”

+ Reflections from Trump’s America. This feature and photos speak volumes.

+ Made me laugh out loud. “My sister moved in, her five cats moved in, and her ex-husband moved in. It’s driving me nuts. My sister watches those murder programs. And her ex-husband is Irish so he keeps talking about the potato famine. He loves that potato famine. Always the potato famine.”

+ 50 necessary reads for your anger and your action.

+ Claire launched a food history podcast and the nerd in me is rejoicing!

+ Favourites from my Instagram feed: Gullfuss is just as magical in the night as it is in the day via @juliahengel, I want to be beautiful but not in the way those girls on the runway or in a magazine via @chevronseclairs, Into the mystic via @jasonincalifornia, Happy Saturday from the CN Tower via @iamsarahgrafferty

Reading update:

I picked up Find Her by Lisa Gardner on a whim one day this week. I read it in a day. A must-read for all the suspense lovers.

This weekend, I’ll finally be reading Where All Light Tends to Go by David Joy.

(Photo snapped on an afternoon walk in Sherwood Park.)

Leave a Reply

