Happy Weekend + Links I Love


fall-colours-in-sherwood-park

Happy weekend everyone. What a week it’s been! On Wednesday morning, I woke up feeling anxious and I didn’t understand why. On my way out the door, I ran into my neighbour and asked him who won the election. I was shocked to say the least. As the day went on, I avoided reading any online news, picking up any newspapers, or turning on the TV. I refused to believe it, but all the Instagram posts told me it was true. I have family living in the US so I was worried about how this would affect them.

While I in no way condone President Trump’s words and actions or agree with his policies, I’ve chosen to pray for him. God is not surprised by the outcome and I am resting in that truth. God is in control and He is still on His throne.

After an emotionally draining week, I hope you make time to relax this weekend. Sending hugs to everyone. If you’re looking for some reading, I’ve got you covered with my favourite links this week…

+ If you’re still in shock over Trump’s victory, this piece by Elizabeth Drew, How it happened clears things up.

+ For all the podcast fans in Toronto: The Hot Docs Podcast Festival, Canada’s first international podcast festival runs from November 18-20! For festival details and tickets, visit the official website.

+ Michelle Obama opens up on eight memorable years in the White House. On the most demanding part of being First Lady: “I have to be in tune. All the time. I have to be in tune with my husband, where he is, how he’s feeling. I have to be in tune with where my family is. The same thing is true in the work that I do. It’s all about me feeling where people are.”

+ And Barack Obama spoke to Brandon of Humans of New York: “I first ran for Congress in 1999, and I got beat. I just got whooped. I had been in the state legislature for a long time, I was in the minority party, I wasn’t getting a lot done, and I was away from my family and putting a lot of strain on Michelle. Then for me to run and lose that bad, I was thinking maybe this isn’t what I was cut out to do.”

+ 50 best cinematographers working today. I am a huge fan of Dariusz Wolski for his work on The Martian, Roger Deakins for his work on Prisoners, Jeff Cronenworth for his work on Gone Girl, Ellen Kuras for her work on A Little Chaos, and Sean Bobbitt for his work on 12 Years A Slave and The Place Beyond the Pines.

+ How I explained the election to my six-year-old daughter. This made me smile.

+ Angela Bassett: ‘Anger doesn’t serve me. If I’m frustrated, I just do better.’ “Her career, she says, has always been about “what inspires me to grow, to learn, the message – what are you saying – as opposed to ‘what are they paying?’ Oftentimes, it’s what inspires me.”

+ Watch: Subway sticky notes offer post-election therapy.

+ This photo essay of a young boy’s cancer journey brought me to tears.

+ Critics are going crazy over ‘Loving’. The team behind ‘Loving’ brings a quiet civil rights battle to life. Written and directed by Jeff Nichols and produced by Colin Firth, the film premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival in September. It opens in theatres this weekend.

+ This bacon butternut squash risotto. Because we could all use a bit of comforting right now.

+ Anthropologie’s Cooler by Degrees collection makes me excited for cooler weather. I would love to get cozy in this hat, this blanket scarf, and these mittens!

+ I finished Michelle Obama’s biography Michelle Obama: A Life by Peter Slevin on Wednesday night. I shared my thoughts on this important read in this post.

+ Favourites from my Instagram feed: Central Park in fall via @joannagoddard, First views of Saluyita, the loveliest little surf town via @pointebreakretreats, It’s raining cats and dogs out here, try not to step in any poodles via @rosielondoner, We pulled over & these beauties came running toward me via @stephsterjovski, Alright, let’s do this via @carolinecala

Reading update:

I’m still making my way through Hard Choices by Hillary Clinton. This one belongs on your reading list.

I am also in the mood for some light reading so I’m re-reading Spin by Catherine McKenzie for the MMD Reading Challenge.

(Photo snapped in Sherwood Forest.)

Leave a Reply

