Happy Weekend + Links I Love


beautiful-fall-day-in-mount-pleasant-cemetary

Happy weekend! How was your first week of November? I am SO ready for all this election drama to be over. Who’s with me? That being said, it’s 2016 and there are still countries around the world where people are fighting for the right to vote, so I hope all my American readers are registered to vote. Also, #imwithher over here in Canada because of her four years’ experience as the Secretary of State and her passion for women, children, and human rights.

How are you spending the weekend? It’s beautiful and sunny here so I plan on taking a long walk in the woods. A friendly reminder to turn your clocks back an hour before heading to bed tonight. If you’re looking for some weekend reading, I’ve got you covered with a bunch of my favourite links this week…

+ I love The Atlantic‘s video series, Women and Leadership. I especially enjoyed the third episode, Wendy Finerman on the Challenges of Being a Female Hollywood Producer. Finerman talks about the lessons she’s learned in Hollywood and how she keeps a work-life balance.

+ Bookmarking Grace’s thoughtful essay, 10 Things People Don’t Talk About in Business (But Should). I’m sure I’ll be returning to it again and again.

+ An American in a Strange Land. An incredible article by a New York Times foreign correspondent returning home after more than ten years abroad. “I worked for an American company, for American bosses, and I wrote articles trying to explain the world to a mostly American audience. All of this created the gentle illusion that we were still truly connected to home. Yet as the years passed, I realized that I had lost touch, that the country I left was no longer the same.”

+ The thought process of social media creeping made me crack up.

+ Behind the Scenes: Making a Magazine Cover. Three women share the behind-the-scenes of New York Times Magazine covers! So fascinating.

+ The Closer: Michelle Obama. Since speaking out against Trump’s treatment of women, the first lady has received a mass of emails. “Sexual assault victims recounted their trauma, fathers poured out anxieties about unhealthy influences on their sons, and a distraught parent agonized over how to explain rape to a 10-year-old. The next morning in the East Wing, a first lady who had spent years in the White House staying away from politics sorted through a thick sheaf of printed messages — a selection of the 600 she had already received, an amount that would triple by the end of the day — and realized there was an unlikely finale for her.” She will be missed.

+ A divorce lawyer, social worker, and book editor on the art of hard conversations.

+ Everyone’s talking about the new Netflix series, The Crown. Here’s the official trailer.

+ This week I finished reading Through the Glass and I’ve been thinking a lot about the criminal justice system. This article, Does the First Amendment End at the Prison Gate? is a really good read. “The original manuscript, which inmates at Monroe had long passed around in secret, was smuggled out of the prison by a volunteer English teacher in a stack of papers to be graded. Highly praised in The Seattle Review of Books, it chronicles a day in the life of a Washington state prisoner. Many scenes do not reflect well on corrections officers. On October 13, the Washington Department of Corrections officially banned the book, which meant the inmates who had ordered it would not be receiving their copy.”

+ Watch: The process of making bamboo matcha whisks by hand.

+ I watched this film last night. Have you seen it yet? It is a cinematic achievement.

+ Favourites on Instagram this week: Still planet Earth, believe it or not via @cocorocha, Happy Halloween from Poppy, Branch and lil Branch via @jessicabiel, Oh, New York, I love you via @brightbazaar

Reading update:

On Tuesday I finished Jojo Moyes’s latest Paris for One and Other Stories. I fell in love with the title story and enjoyed the other 8 stories in the collection. Worth reading.

On Wednesday I finally finished Through the Glass by Shannon Moroney and I can’t stop thinking about it. Moroney shares how she dealt with the loss of her husband, the publicity of the criminal investigation, the rejection and judgment from those in her community, and a diagnosis of post-traumatic stress disorder. She takes us on an intimate journey inside prisons and courtrooms. A story about healing, compassion, letting go, and moving forward after trauma.

I also devoured Left Neglected by Lisa Genova in two days. It’s my favourite book from the author so far and I’ve been recommending it to everyone.

Last night I picked up Hillary Clinton’s memoir, Hard Choices and I am LOVING it. An in-depth and entertaining look at her four years as Secretary of State.

(Photo snapped in Mount Pleasant Cemetery.)

Leave a Reply

