Happy Weekend + Links I Love


fall-colours-in-mount-pleasant-cemetery

Happy Friday everyone. How was your week? Where is October going? I’ve been going on long walks along the trails in my neighbourhood to soak up all the fall foliage. I feel as though we didn’t have much of a fall in Toronto last year (I remember spotting ONE tree with orange leaves. Or maybe I just wasn’t paying attention!)

What are your plans for the weekend? As always, the links I loved this week for you to check out…

+ Must read: To the First Lady, With Love. Four authors wrote the most beautiful thank-you notes to Michelle Obama.

+ Stephanie Sterjovski’s stunning wedding day. The sweetest love story: “We chose each other every day since our first date and 8 years later we walked down the aisle to choose each other once more. Coming from different cultural backgrounds, we had our challenges along the way, but our newfound faith brought us closer and gave us strength to overcome them.”

+ Loving this post on cool book covers.

+ The Everygirl does the best career profiles. This one on Jocelyn Adams, the founder of Grandbaby Cakes is my favourite to date. “It is more important to me to preserve my brand’s authenticity for the long run than receive a fat check in the short run.”

+ I couldn’t stop laughing when this DIY costume popped up in my Instagram feed.

+ 12 toxic cosmetic ingredients to avoid.

+ Long read for your weekend: My report to the President. “As you walked Jill and me out into the Rose Garden almost exactly a year ago and I announced that I would not run for president, I said in my remarks that I had only one regret — that I wouldn’t be the president who presided over the end of cancer as we know it. I said it because I believe it’s possible.”

+ Good news! There’s a Babysitters Club podcast and it’s hosted by two 30-year-old guys.

+ Loved the latest episode of Garance’s Pardon my French podcast. How to Build a Brand Your Own Way: Grace Bonney & Anna Bond.

+ A former prisoner on voting for the first time in his life. “All I can say is I hope other former inmates get out and vote. The problem is, you have to believe to be able to vote, and most of us don’t. Some don’t believe in people at all; others don’t believe in the government because that’s what their lives have taught them. But I will vote. I don’t believe in all people, but I believe in the right people, and what they can do.”

+ Watch: Actors speak about playing the President in their respective films and TV shows.

+ Favourites on Instagram this week: Crash landing via @davekennedy_, NY, you always take my breath away via @ananewyork, Fresh air via @shutterbean,  Up, up, and away via @jamie.woolsey, Hello from Colorado and the first of many picture perfect views via @nataliebergen, The little plant that could via @laurenswells

Reading update:

I read I Shall Be Near to You by Erin Lindsay McCabe in two days. This is hands-down the best historical novel I’ve ever read. The story captured my heart from the very first page. I laughed, I cried, and I slowed down and savoured the stunning prose. This is definitely one of those books I’ll be reading over and over.

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena left me breathless and I couldn’t go to bed before finishing it. I devoured this tightly woven thriller on Monday evening. So many twists.

I am reading and loving Shannon Moroney’s memoir Through the Glass. This one has been on my reading list since last year.

I started Anne Valente’s debut novel Our Hearts Will Burn Us Down last night and I can’t put it down. The stunning prose drew me in. Beautifully written, heartbreaking, timely, and important.

(Photo snapped on my walk through Mount Pleasant Cemetery this week.)

2 thoughts on “Happy Weekend + Links I Love

  1. deborahkehoe says:

    What a great concept for a blog! It’s a newsfeed of sorts, and entertaining. I’m a book reviewer so I was especially interested in the books you recommended. Interesting! I may put a couple on my TBR list!

    • donzwebb says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Deborah! I’d love to hear what you think when you read them. Feel free to check out my other book posts as well. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

