Happy Weekend + Links I Love


 

fall-colours-in-the-neighbourhood

Happy weekend, friends! I hope you had an amazing week. Here in Toronto, the leaves seemed to have changed overnight and my neighbourhood is exploding with yellow, orange, and red. We didn’t have much of a fall last year so I am taking it all in. Fall just might be my favourite season.

Got any fun weekend plans? It’s 66 degrees and sunny today so I plan on taking a walk along the trails and soaking up the vibrant fall colours while I can.

If you’re in the mood for some reading, here’s a roundup of my favourite links this week…

+ In case you missed it earlier this week: The video and full transcript of Michelle Obama’s powerful speech in New Hampshire.

+ Gael García Bernal: The border thriller ‘Desierto’ is what happens when xenophobic hate speech is accepted. I saw this film with a friend when it premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival last September and we are still talking about it.

+ Bookselling in the 21st Century: On the Difficulty of Recommending Books. “I swing between wanting to press my dearest books into strangers’ hands and wanting to hide. I may as well be handing over a piece of my psyche: here is something important to me, this helped me during a painful time, this made me cry. In opening a book I recommend a person opens a window onto who I am. If they dislike the view it feels like a rejection. I know it is not personal, I know that any interaction with a stranger has minimal effects on us both, and yet the fear lingers, similar to telling someone your real feelings.”

+ Hitting the trails and taking in the beautiful fall foliage is one of my favourite things to do in the fall. A guide to fall colours at Ontario Parks.

+ California Sunday Magazine dedicated its October issue to sound! I really enjoyed: Eating With Your Ears, Faking It, Hollywood Voice Lessons, Fish are Loud, and The Foghorn.

+ Can I get a Nose on This? How one chef deals with not being able to smell. Chef Adam Cole on what he would say to those in his profession who consider his inability to smell a disability: “I say Beethoven was deaf and he made beautiful music. I’m not comparing myself to Beethoven, but there are composers who can’t hear who can write music; there are blind artists who paint pictures. I guess it goes to show there’s a lot more intuition that goes into creating than just our perceived abilities. Technically it may be a disability, but it’s never kept me from doing anything I’ve wanted to.”

+ This bag has WiFi!?! On the wishlist.

+ I’ve been listening to NPR’s newest podcast How I Built This and it’s fascinating. I loved the episodes on Instagram and Vice Media.

+ I hate being on my phone all the time. “Recently, my fingertips have started to feel numb because I’m scrolling so often. Numb! That can’t be good. For me, the phone promotes habitually bad behavior, which, if I had to guess, stops mental expansion.”

+ Watch: The New York Public Library’s Rose Main Reading Room get re-shelved with books in this time lapse.

+ Favourites on Instagram this week: Caved via @halfadams, Frost warning via @scotthwilson, Best Easter egg hunt ever via @iamsarahgrafferty, Desert vibes via @songofstyle, I like big books and I cannot lie via @rosielondoner

Fall reading update:

I flew through Susannah Cahalan’s memoir Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness in two days. I am happy I gave this memoir another chance. Brave, inspiring, captivating, beautifully-told, and it didn’t scare me as much as it did when I first read it years ago. Highly recommend.

This week, I picked up These Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf on the recommendation of one of my favourite librarians. I read it in 8 hours. Lyrical, moving, shocking, and unputdownable.

This weekend I’ll be cozying up with I Shall Be Near to You by Erin Lindsay McCabe.

(Photo snapped in my neighbourhood this week.)

Leave a Reply

