Happy {Long} Weekend + Links I Love


books-memoir

Happy weekend! It’s Canadian Thanksgiving and I’m so grateful for an extra day to relax. It’s the perfect fall weekend here―sunshine, blue skies, and a slight chill in the air.

My thoughts and prayers are with those affected by the hurricane. How are you spending the weekend? If you’re in the mood for some Internet browsing, here are my favourite links this week…

+ I shared my books memoir―my love of reading, book recommendations, and favourite reads over at The Gentlewomen Book Club. It was so much fun. Thanks Cassie! Connect with the Gentlewomen Book Club on Instagram.

+ My friend Vickie, a certified holistic nutritionist made these walnut lentil zucchini boats. I love how she includes the nutritional benefits at the end.

+ Reader’s Guide to This Fall’s Big Book Awards. Given the number of books I’ve read so far this year, I can’t believe I haven’t read any of the finalists yet! Have you read any?

+ I love getting The Daily Skimm in my inbox every morning. Scroll down for a phone interview with Vice President Joe Biden about Domestic Violence Awareness Act and his campus sexual assault awareness campaign, It’s On Us.

+ And Obama just signed a Bill of Rights for Survivors of Sexual Assault. “The act ensures that survivors won’t have to pay for rape-kit testing and that they will be notified 60 days before their kit is set to be destroyed, among other things.”

+ ‘Homeland’ Cast, Crew Tour 9/11 Museum Ahead of Season 6 Premiere. I need to catch up on seasons 4 and 5 before January 15.

+ Sarah Jessica Parker and Ta-Nehisi Coates, on new literary paths. Sarah Jessica Parker: “I have always loved to read for the same reason I love to act,” she says, “which is that other people’s stories are more interesting to me than my own.”

Ta-Nehisi Coates: “It was very hard to write ‘Between the World and Me.’ I don’t mean the craft, although of course the craft is hard. I mean that it takes a toll on you emotionally. You need to go in another direction every once in a while. He chuckles. “‘Black Panther’ is where I go to play.”

+ 10 bitter foods to try today to improve digestion.

+ Child Brides Learn to Take Portraits of Each Other. So incredibly moving.

+ Hilary Clinton faces her toughest interviewer yet―11-year old Marley Dias. On the first book she ever saw herself in: “When I was young, I really identified with Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, particularly the character of Jo. The book was written at a time when there weren’t as many options for women and girls as there are now. I loved that she wasn’t afraid to chart her own course. I remember reading that book and thinking, I want to be like that when I grew up.”

+ These eye-opening images of the U.S.-Mexico border. “Every year, an estimated 350 million people legally cross the border, with some 400,000 entering into the United States illegally.”

+ My favourites on Instagram this week: I feel like I could get some work done in a place like this via @annebogel, A taste of Fall seasoned with a dash of altitude via @erubes1, I do think this is Ontario’s prettiest season via @lisatant, Tonight’s dance partner via @iamsarahgrafferty

In case you missed it earlier this week, I shared the 5 books I can’t stop recommending AND my Fall 2016 reads. Happy fall reading!

Reading update:

I’m working my way through Michelle Obama: A Life. I can already tell it’s going to be one of my favourite reads of the year.

On Thursday, I started Gut: The Inside Story of Our Body’s Most Underrated Organ by Giulia Enders. Who knew the gut could be so fascinating? Engaging, funny, and easy to digest. I am learning a lot and making notes. Everyone needs to read this book!

Last night, I picked up Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness by Susannah Cahalan and I can’t put it down. It’s my pick for “a book I previously abandoned” for the MMD Reading Challenge. I read it years ago but stopped halfway as it frightened me. I’m in a better place now to see it through till the end.

Leave a Reply

