Summer 2016 Recap


This summer was indeed a memorable one. I shared my summer bucket list here on the blog back in May and I managed to accomplish most of what I hoped to. I participated in my third Relay For Life event, read almost all twenty books on my summer reading list, got to know the city even better with an urban scavenger hunt, attended a Toronto Blue Jays game, and ate lots and lots of gelato and ice cream.

It’s officially fall and it certainly feels like it (Today is 64 degrees), so I’m saying goodbye to summer with a roundup of my favourite summer memories…

pre-survivor-speech

A quick selfie with Winston Sih before sharing my cancer experience during the opening ceremonies. I was asked to be the survivor speaker at this year’s Toronto Relay For Life. It was simultaneously the most terrifying and most rewarding thing I’ve ever done. My hands wouldn’t stop shaking and I got all emotional, but it was 150% worth it. From my speech: “To me, Relay is all about community. And being a part of this community has taught me that it’s okay to not be okay; it’s okay to be vulnerable.”

toronto-relay-for-life-survivor-lap

Kicking off my third Relay For Life by walking the Survivor Lap with my fellow survivors. The lovely event day volunteers handed out yellow roses to survivors at the starting line. It was incredibly moving.

Union Summer

I spent a lot of time at the Union Summer Market and discovered Toronto food vendors like Heirloom Toronto and Death in Venice Gelato Company.

jerk-duck-confit-sandwich

The most amazing, melts-in-your-mouth Jerk Duck Confit sandwich from Heirloom Toronto Food Truck.

cold-brew-espresso-gelato

Beating the heat with Cold Brew Espresso & Nutella + Cookies gelato from Death in Venice Gelato Company. Because two scoops are always better than one!

graffiti-spotting-during-urban-scavenger-hunt

Graffiti spotting on our urban scavenger hunt in Kensington-Chinatown. I know the area pretty well, but I discovered so many new-to-me spots! I’ve been meaning to do a scavenger hunt for years and I’m glad I can finally cross it off the bucket list!

station-cold-brew-coffee-and-my-favourite-summer-read

Relaxing by the waterfront with Station Cold Brew’s Signature Cold Brew coffee and one of my favourite summer reads, Food and the City by Ina Yalof.

cheering-on-the-jays

Cheering on the Toronto Blue Jays at the Rogers Centre. Go Jays Go! It was my first game in eight years!

business-cards

Celebrating the arrival of my business cards. I’m officially part of the team at Pom Health and Wellness!

toronto-music-garden

I spent lots of time exploring the absolutely gorgeous Toronto Music Garden.

roxy-fitness-event

Checking out the Roxy Fitness event at Woodbine Beach. It was such a fun event and I’ll definitely be participating next year!

the-secret-scripture-premiere

Scenes from the TIFF 16 red-carpet premiere of The Secret Scripture. Rooney Mara, Jack Reynor, Eric Bana and Vanessa Redgrave star in this adaptation of Sebastian Barry’s award-winning novel from Oscar-nominated director Jim Sheridan.

What’s your most memorable summer moment? I’d love to hear!

One thought on “Summer 2016 Recap

Leave a comment