Happy Weekend + Links I Love


the-secret-scripture-premiere

Happy Saturday everyone. I hope you had a good week. If you follow me on Instagram, you would have noticed it’s been a busy and exciting week complete with movie premieres and celebrity sightings (Gerard Butler, Justin Timberlake, Christian Bale, Mark Wahlberg, Kate Hudson!) The film fest ends tomorrow; I had the best time and met so many people. I’m pretty exhausted from all the running around so I plan on curling up on the couch with my latest read.

Got any exciting plans? If you’re looking to catch up on some reading, here’s a roundup of my favourite links this week…

+ An incredibly helpful post from Village Juicery on the anxiety-anemia connection. “While anemia is not generally the cause of mental health issues, many symptoms of anemia may present as mental health-like in nature, including chronic fatigue, anxiety, depression, poor memory, difficulty concentrating, energy loss, chest palpitations, insomnia and/or restless sleep, and so on.”

+ Bookmarking: 10 underrated travel spots you should book a flight to asap.

+ What Nobody Told Me: The Thrills and Perils of My First Fashion Week. “Back on Day 1, I was eyes so bright and tail so bushy as I hurried to my first-ever runway show, Hellessy. By the time I arrived, five minutes before its 2 p.m. start time, I was sweating profusely from the hot, broken subway – a physiological state I’d scarcely shake for the next week – and from running several blocks to Pier 59 out of fear of being late.”

TIFF captures a moment in the Festival experience of filmmakers, talent, and programmers using an iPhone 7. Pretty stunning.

+ Amy Adams reflects on her character in Quebecois director Denis Villeneuve’s sci-fi drama, Arrival. “Any time you get a character that is well developed and emotionally vulnerable and yet intellectual… it’s a real gift as an actress. Because, it a reflection of what women are to me. They’re not one thing. They’re not purely intellectually, they’re not purely vulnerable. They’re fully fleshed out human beings. And to see that reflected so beautifully was a pleasure.”

+ Soooo many celebrity sightings during TIFF 16. My favourites from the red carpet: Leo at the premiere of his doc The Turning Point, Scarlett Johansson at the premiere of Sing, Colin Firth’s surprise appearance at the premiere of his film Loving, Tom Ford at the premiere of his film Nocturnal Animals, Ryan Gosling at the premiere of La La Land, Matt Damon at the premiere of his film Manchester By the Sea, Justin Timberlake at the premiere of JT & The Tennessee Kids, Gerard Butler at the premiere of The Headhunter’s Calling.

+ Architecture that’s built to heal. This TED Talk landed in my inbox this week. Such an innovative and inspiring concept!

+ What happens when there’s only one public defender in town. “Every Wednesday, she makes an all-day trip to the infamous Angola prison to meet with clients. Every other night, she visits inmates at the local jail. Every weekend, she works.”

+ I’ll be whipping up this layered chocolate, banana, and date shake this weekend.

+ Fall movie release schedule. I highly recommend watching Desierto which I caught during last year’s TIFF. An edge-of-your-seat thriller for sure. I can’t wait for The Dressmaker, Deepwater Horizon, The Accountant, American Pastoral, Arrival, Elle, Shut In, Manchester By the Sea, and Patriots Day.

+ Instagram favourites this week: In the running community, there’s a saying that goes – if you can’t race, you cheer via @melsays, Mission to Mars: Complete via @lesspressed, Fastest way to fashion week via @ iamsarahgrafferty, After hiking ten miles across the lava field via @brightbazaar

Summer reading update:

+ Last Sunday night I started The Making of a Chef by Michael Ruhlman. The manager at my neighbourhood bookstore recommended it to me last year. I am so happy I finally picked it up. Soooo good!

+ Last night I started Noah Hawley’s new thriller Before The Fall. From the very first page, I was hooked. Vivid, dramatic, beautifully-written and perfectly paced; I am already halfway through. It’s like watching a movie you wish would go on forever.

(Photo snapped at the premiere of The Secret Scripture.)

Leave a Reply

