Happy Weekend + Links I Love


SUP event

Happy Sunday and Happy Labour Day weekend to all the Canadian and US readers! How is it September already?! I’m still in full summer mode. Yesterday morning, I threw on a romper and when I got downstairs, I had to spin around and grab a sweater. Fall seems to have appeared overnight and I actually ordered a hot chocolate at Starbucks yesterday.

If you follow me on Instagram, you’d have seen my photos from last weekend’s Roxy Fitness event at Woodbine Beach. It was such a fun event and I wish I’d found out about it sooner so I could have participated. I’ll definitely be registering for next year’s event!

Got any fun weekend plans? I’ve been getting some much-needed rest and if I’m feeling up to it, I’ll be checking out Artfest Toronto in The Distillery District.

Get outside and enjoy what’s left of summer, friends. As always, here’s a roundup of the links I’m loving this week…

+ I can’t wait to get my copy of the Nutrition Stripped cookbook.

+ Obama to guest-edit the November issue of Wired Magazine. “At Mr. Obama’s direction, the issue will focus on the future, the magazine said. Its theme will be frontiers: personal, local, national, international and beyond. (Think precision medicine, urban planning, civil rights, climate change and space travel.)”

+ No chill? Pop a probiotic (The gut-brain connection is 100% real).

+ Why are airplane windows round? In case you’ve ever wondered.

+ 13 hottest restaurants in Toronto right now. I’ve been meaning to try Honest Weight, OMAW, and Miku.

+ I’ve been on a documentary kick lately, so I’m making note of these 11 essential documentaries.

+ Grace of Design Sponge shared the lessons she’s learned in 12 years of blogging. On what she’s learned: “Numbers are nice, but meaningful connections are forever. I’m proud of being part of a website that has maintained a large and steady audience over 12 years, but I’m more proud of the individual emails, comments and messages we’ve received.”

+ I finally watched Still Alice this week and I’m so happy I did. A career-defining performance for Julianne Moore. Have you seen it?

+ Edward Snowden’s long, strange journey to Hollywood. Stone’s trip to Moscow to film the real Snowden was the last bit he needed to complete the film. But he was still worried — that the footage would be leaked, that critics would eviscerate it, that Snowden wouldn’t like it.

+ Only 4 days to go until the Toronto International Film Festival takes over the city. In case you missed it, I shared the films I can’t wait to catch during this year’s fest. Individual tickets went on sale at 9am today.

+ Favourites on Instagram this week: This is the first summer of my adult years where I haven’t worn foundation via @latonyayvette, When your child has no patience for your photos via @evachen212, Got blown away by a crater today via @melsays,  On Tuesdays, we eat pink via @laurenswells

Summer reading update:

This week I started reading Yaa Gyasi’s much-talked-about debut novel Homegoing. It’s so different from any book I’ve ever read before. All the praise is well deserved!

I’m also reading Unbecoming by Rebecca Scherm. This suspense novel has been on my reading list since last year. So far, so good.

This weekend I’m diving into Anthony Doerr’s first short story collection, The Shell Collector.

(Photo snapped at last weekend’s Roxy Fitness event.)

Leave a Reply

