Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Lake views over at the Toronto Islands

Happy Sunday, friends. I hope you had a good week. Stores put out their fall stock weeks ago and the September issue of my favourite magazines are already arriving in the mail, but I’m not ready to let go of summer just yet.

Yesterday I finally made it over to the Toronto Islands for the first time this summer. I also stocked up on my favourite summer fruit (Yay peaches!). Got any exciting weekend plans? I hope you have an amazing weekend and as always, here’s a roundup of my favourite links this week…

+ Hope. Vote. Absolutely loved this post!

+ Acrobatic Olympians spring into new career, with Cirque du Soleil. “Still, the transition from serious competitor to performer can be challenging. As if it were not hard enough to nail a somersault on a trampoline, try doing it while in character — perhaps as a cricket, with six legs.”

+ Life after Usain Bolt.

+ What your food cravings are trying to tell you. “Salty foods like chips, popcorn, sea salt, celery, etc., it may indicate that you’re either dehydrated, which may seem counterintuitive, or that you have an electrolyte imbalance.” That explains why I’ve been craving sea salt and vinegar chips lately!

+ “Everyone who comes back from deployment fills out a form. It’s a standard psychological evaluation. It asks about drug use, sleeping habits, things like that.” This broke my heart.

+ 2016 Mille Mitten. I look forward to Mike’s post on Mille Mitten every summer! The photos left me speechless as they always do.

+ This Toronto photographer takes stunning aerial shots of the world’s best beaches. “After falling in love with photography in high school and studying it at Ryerson, the Toronto-based photographer was drawn back to the water—only now he he flies high above the shores in a helicopter, capturing mesmerizing shades of blue.” You can check out this collection at the Bau-Xi Gallery in Toronto until the end of August.

+ Bookmarking this guide to making fruits and veggies last longer.

+ Love Garance’s post, Body Happy. “A body wrapped up in self-love is always a beautiful body. On that note, me and my bikini will let you go. We’re headed to the beach to try and practice acceptance, self-love and shakage of the non-booty.”

+ The Canadian National Exhibition kicked off on Friday. This year’s menu includes some protein-packed options. CNE menu includes cricket tacos, bug dogs, and beetle smoothies. Yum!

+ Favourite Instagrams this week: Ok it actually wasn’t that bad via @sacquisto, Donuts for dinner via @howsweeteats, Dreaming in color via @lesspressed,  Just another average morning in Venice via @tuulavintage, Surrounded by light from both heaven and earth via @garypeppergirl

Summer reading update:

I re-read The Knockoff earlier this week. It was just as good (if not better) the second time around!

I’m reading Food and the City very, very slowly. I don’t want it to end.

(Photo snapped over at the Toronto Islands yesterday.)

Leave a Reply

