Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Toronto Blue Jays game

Happy Friday everyone! How was your week? Mine was a pretty busy one. Can you believe it’s mid August already?! I’m clinging to these summer weekends for as long as I possibly can. On Wednesday night, I attended my first Toronto Blue Jays game in eight years! I’m not a huge baseball fan, but I had such a ball with my bestie. We had such incredible seats.

There’s rain in the forecast and I’m actually looking forward to it as it’s been unbearably hot and humid in Toronto the past couple of days. Hopefully the rain eases up on Sunday as I plan on unearthing my roller blades and hitting the trails. Got any fun plans? Hope you have an amazing weekend! As always, here’s a roundup of my favourite links this week…

+ 7 reasons you should try the ancient practice of cupping. I’ve been getting acupuncture treatments done for years now and I’ve been meaning to try cupping. Now that I work at this health and wellness centre, it’s definitely at the top of my list!

+ I can’t believe I’m just seeing Supal’s post on her morning routine. Better late than never. Such a joy to read.

+ I recently bought this colouring book and it’s safe to say that I’m addicted!

+ ‘I have no choice but to keep looking’. Five years after the tsunami in Japan, a husband still searches the sea for his wife, joined by a father looking for his daughter.

+ I’m a huge fan of Free People’s Wellness Encyclopedia series. This one all about activated charcoal is worth bookmarking.

+ The History of Mister Softee. “Since its inception, Mister Softee ice cream trucks have served only two flavors, vanilla and chocolate, in a 10% or 6% butterfat blend depending on a truck’s geographic location, with southern locations preferring the lower butterfat formula.”

+ A great interview from NY Mag: What’s it like to be a food writer right now?

+ Churro ice cream in churro bowls?! Yes please.

+ Welcome the weekend with these lava flow cocktail pops and boozy salted caramel pretzel root beer floats!

+ Bookmarking this awesome list of documentaries. Have you watched any of these before? First Position, 20 Feet From Stardom, and The September Issue are favourites of mine.

+ Long read: The life of a border paramedic.

+ I am so happy I discovered Globe and Mail photojournalist John Lehmann on Instagram. Follow him for beautiful, powerful, mind-blowing shots from the Rio Olympics! I absolutely love this photo of Canadian synchronized diving duo Jennifer Abel and Pamela Ware.

+ Favourites on Instagram this week: I do all my own stunts via @cocorocha, Quitting everything to become a mermaid via @melsays, Watching the rain roll in via @extensionmethod, The best view comes after the hardest climb via @amandanbrooks

Summer reading update:

I am currently reading and loving Food and the City by Ina Yalof. If you’re looking for your next read, I can’t recommend it enough.

Starting this weekend: Gold by Chris Cleave.

(Photo snapped at the Rogers Centre before Wednesday’s Toronto Blue Jays game.)

Leave a Reply

