Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Rooftop patio at Gusto 101

Happy Friday everyone! Got any fun weekend plans? Tomorrow I’ll be walking the track with my teammates at Toronto Relay For Life. It’s gonna be perfect Relay weather with temperatures getting up to the 90s.

As always, here’s a roundup of the links I’m loving this week…

+ What really happens at a ballet audition. Los Angeles Magazine gave us an inside look at how auditions work at the American Contemporary Ballet.

+ Loved Gretchen’s post, I Feel vs. I Know. So much truth.

+ The Roots of Mental Health—Maybe They’re Not In Our Heads. An eye-opening read.

+ Jessica of How Sweet Eats created recipes for Elin Hilderbrand’s latest summer novel, Here’s to Us. This one made my summer reading list!

+ Must-watch: The athleticism of Simone Biles. Gymnastics is my favourite Olympic sport to watch.

+ I love The Everygirl’s career profiles. How selling copiers and beating cancer lead Megan Silianoff to her dream job. Her advice for someone who wants to write a book: “Sit down and write the damn book. Don’t worry about how you’re going to get it published. That’s the easy part. The hard part is to actually sit your butt down in a chair and write 60,000 words.”

+ JetBlue and Alaska Airlines offer free flights to families of Orlando shooting victims.

+ 9 Types of People You’ll Find in an Airport made me laugh out loud.

+ The guide to Adaptogens. I’ve never heard of them, have you? I’m thinking of incorporating some in my diet!

+ Commitment rings of a different kind.

+ How pretty! Sherbet water marble mani DIY.

+ Beautiful summer nights call for outdoor movies, live music, food truck eats, and beer! Open Roof Festival kicks off next Tuesday June 21st and runs until Wednesday August 24.

+ In case you missed it, I shared the 20 books on my summer reading list.

Summer reading update:

+ Last week I picked up I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh and finished it in three days. It’s a pulse-pounding, deeply satisfying thriller. Mackintosh’s twelve years experience on the British police force makes it an incredibly realistic read. Be prepared to stay up way past your bedtime!

+ Earlier this week I started The Royal We and I am loving it. A captivating read filled with characters you’ll love and love to hate. I’ve laughed out loud, shed a few tears, and stayed up until the wee hours of the morning finishing just one more chapter. The perfect summer read!

+ Starting this weekend: My Sunshine Away by M.O. Walsh. I’ve been meaning to read this debut novel since it came out last spring. I can’t wait to dive right in!

(Photo of the rooftop patio at Gusto 101.)

Leave a Reply

