Happy Weekend + Links I Love


TD Union Block Party

Happy Friday everyone! Can you believe we’re already halfway through the year?! Toronto Relay For Life is coming up in two weeks and this week has been a busy one with last-minute team recruitment and planning.

I’ve been making the most of the gorgeous summer weather. Yesterday, I met up with friends at Union Station for the TD Block Party. It was the most perfect afternoon complete with lots of sunshine, live music, food trucks, and good company. Tomorrow’s plans: ballet bootcamp followed by brunch at Gusto 101.

What’s on your weekend agenda? I hope you have a lovely one! As always, here are the links I’m loving this week…

+ What happened when I submitted to Cannes on a Whim and Got In. Such an inspiring post! This made me giggle: “Aaron and I both soaked in the moment as we walked. Me, making sure I didn’t fall on my face during my red carpet debut and Aaron also  making sure I didn’t fall on my face like a fool. (What are husbands for, right?) Next time I do this I will be wearing Birkenstocks, I thought as we walked.”

+ New York Times Magazine’s The New York Issue: 800 Feet Above the City.

+ California Sunday Magazine talks to six Computer Science seniors from Stanford about their experiences.

+ Just what I needed to read to start eating better. How your gut affects your mood.

+ I picked up Ella’s beautiful cookbook, Deliciously Ella Every Day at her book signing back in April and it’s seriously inspiring me to improve my eating habits. The photos are so vivid and I can’t wait to jump back into cooking! Also, I’m pretty excited about her new book, Deliciously Ella’s Smoothies & Juices coming out in September!

+  I squealed a bit when I read Lauren’s post, The Hills: That Was Then, This Is Now. I’m so excited about this special project! I own Seasons 1 through 3 of The Hills on DVD and honestly, I watch it quite often.

+ Summer backyard movie night. It’s time to get outdoors!

+ Loved Grace’s thoughtful essay on design, There are no rules: What we believe about design. “For me, design is about support, community and lifting each other up — not about intimidation.”

+ Now or Never: The Dangers of Instant Gratification.

+ A great interview: NPR Correspondent Ofeibea Quist-Arcton on her breakfast with Anthony Bourdain and her love for Senegal.

+ I just downloaded these pretty pretty desktop wallpapers!

+ Favourites from my Instagram feed this week: Voiceover work in NYC via @meghanmarkle, When I was six months old, I was dropped off at an orphanage in Northern China via @humansofny, Close up of La Vanituese tutu from Le Petit Prince via @nationalballet, Two star hotel, five star lettering via @laurenswells

+ Definitely adding this book to my summer reading list. I can’t wait to share my complete list with you next week!

Spring reading update:

+ Earlier this week, I finished The Accident by Chris Pavone. I highly recommend it if you’re a fan of spy thrillers!

+ I am currently reading Lucky Us by Amy Bloom. It’s a bit of a slow read for me, but I am enjoying it nonetheless.

+ I am a bit behind on spring reading, so this weekend I’ll be picking up the pace. Up next on the list: Saint Mazie by Jami Attenberg and The Mountain Story by Lori Lansens.

(Photo snapped at the TD Block Party at Union Station yesterday.)

Leave a Reply

