Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Las Olas Beach

Happy Friday everyone. Got any fun weekend plans? Last weekend, I took a last-minute trip to Florida to visit family. I had such an amazing time catching up with everyone and soaking up the 80-degree weather. I am already planning my next trip back for July! The jet lag still hasn’t worn off so I plan on recuperating on the couch with my latest read this weekend.

Have a wonderful weekend! As always, here are the links I’m loving lately…

+ The latest NY Times Fashion Table for Three. Barack Obama and Bryan Cranston on the roles of a lifetime.

+ Humans of New York got a facelift and I am loving it. Brandon will be posting stories from the Pediatrics Department of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and raising funds to research and cure the rare pediatric cancers they are fighting. Check out Gabe’s moving story.

+ In love with this before and after tour of Emma’s kitchen. How gorgeous is that ceiling and those bright yellow bar stools?!

+ Anatomy of design: MM x Reitmans. “Those years of venturing with my mom to downtown LA, sourcing fabric swatches to take to her pattern maker, Joyce, and watching a seed of an idea grow into an actual garment on someone’s body – who knew that all of those years would serve to be the master class I never knew I would need one day.”

+ Madness: In Florida prisons, mentally ill inmates have been tortured, driven to suicide, and killed by guards. This long read from The New Yorker broke my heart.

+ Perception vs. Reality. This Lucky Peach feature was an interesting read.

+ Taking notes: I didn’t spend a single dollar for a week. “One thing I definitely realized is that I often use food as a distraction to stop what I’m doing, or get out of the office, or feel like I’m doing something to make me more comfortable with the fact that I’m not, you know, doing anything. But I didn’t have to stop going for walks (they were cheaper because I didn’t buy an $8 smoothie) or taking breaks (we’re human! Stop when you feel like it).”

+ The LaurenConrad.com ladies shared 10 favourite apps that make work way easier. #4 sounds pretty amazing!

+ This career post from The Everygirl: 5 ways to ditch quitter’s guilt and do what’s best for you.

+ Listen: For her latest episode of Pardon My French, Garance talks creativity with Isaac Mizrahi.

+ I fly 747s for a living. Here are the amazing things I see every day.

+ Yummy sips to try this weekend: Gin Lavender Lattes.

+ Favourites from my Instagram feed: A big part of a nurse’s job is translation via @humansofny, Greenery-Scenery via @saralongsworth, Stripes and topknots via @emilyschuman, Dancing can be tiring. Especially in a corset via @extensionmethod, Morning reflections via @scotthwilson

Spring reading update:

I packed Francesc Miralles’ charming and funny translated novel, Love in Lowercase for my Florida trip. I devoured it at the airport, on the plane, and lounging by the pool. Highly, highly recommend.

In need of a change of pace, so this weekend I’ll be starting Chris Pavone’s thriller, The Accident.

(Photo snapped while soaking up the sun on Las Olas Beach last weekend.)

Leave a Reply

