Happy Weekend + Links I Love


sunset at harbourfront

Happy Sunday everyone! Hope you had a productive week and you’re catching up on sleep this weekend. This week was a pretty memorable one. April is Daffodil Month so on Thursday I sold daffodil pins to raise money to help fund research and support services for Canadians living with cancer and their families. I was so moved by people’s stories about how cancer has affected their lives. Interested in getting involved? Volunteer as a pin seller, buy a daffodil pin, or pick up a bunch of bright yellow daffodils from participating stores.

I kicked off the weekend with Double Bill Allegro and Sculpt (my new favourite!) and I’ve been recuperating on the couch with my latest read. Got any fun weekend plans? As always, here’s a look at the links I’m loving this week…

+ I was so thrilled to meet the lovely Ella Woodward at her book signing on Thursday night. She is just the sweetest! This morning I flipped through her beautiful new cookbook, Deliciously Ella Every Day and I can’t wait to cook up a storm.

+ How to Transition from Winter to Spring: A Mental Style Guide made me laugh out loud.

+ Loved this behind-the-scenes look at Lauren’s Celebrate press tour.

+ David Chang explains Why Ko went from “No!” to “Go!” on Photos.

+ Madison Maxey, the 22-year-old who has designed textiles for Zac Posen and founded her own digital creative agency, The Crated. A great interview from Surface Mag.

+ This TED Talk landed in my inbox a few days ago: Organizational psychologist Adam Grant on the surprising habits of original thinkers.

+ W Mag had an intimate conversation with Kelly Rowland on rejection, Paris Fashion Week, and the secret to surviving Destiny’s Child.

+ My love for HONY is strong: “I work twelve hours a day as a patient care technician. I don’t treat myself like I should. But today’s my day off. So I’m trying to take care of myself. I got my nails done. I’m on the way to church. I’ve been singing along to my gospel and reggae. There’s no need to be in tune when you’re praising God. I’ve been singing and crying and laughing to myself. No crazy people bothered me on the train today. They think I’m one of them. I’m covered.” Love it!

+ Favourites from my Instagram feed lately: More queen bee than hula dancer via @jenpinkston, Saturday sun, silks, and smiles via @kelssvv, Elena Lobsanova before her final entrance via @nationalballet, Giant tulips or tiny hot air balloon via @juliahengel.

Spring reading update:

Yesterday morning, I picked up Read Bottom Up by Neel Shah and Skye Chatham and finished it last night. This charming book about dating in the digital age has been on my reading list since before its release last year. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough and I literally laughed out loud more times than I can count.

I am halfway through Along the Infinite Sea by Beatriz Williams.

Up next: The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe. This moving memoir has been on my must-read list for years.

(Photo snapped at Toronto Harbourfront.)

Leave a Reply

