Relay For Life 2016 in Toronto


hope

Relay For Life 2016 in Toronto, the Canadian Cancer Society’s annual signature fundraising event will be taking place on Saturday, June 18, 2016 from 6pm to 12am at Downsview Park.

Why I Relay?

In the summer of 2011, I was diagnosed with thyroid cancer. The following summer, I was declared cancer-free. In 2014, I joined the North York Relay For Life committee and helped organize my first Relay For Life event. It was an unforgettable, life-changing, and incredibly emotional experience (tears were shed).

This June, I’ll be walking the track with my teammates at my third Relay For Life event. All money raised will go towards funding Canada’s most promising cancer research and vital support services for Canadians living with cancer. Services like the Wheels of Hope Transportation Service, the patient transportation program where volunteers drive cancer patients to life-saving appointments and the Peer Support Program which connects those who have been recently diagnosed and caregivers with a trained volunteer who has “been there.”

Upon diagnosis and during the year and a half I lived with cancer, I had no clue these services even existed. If I had, I would have definitely used them.

As a peer support volunteer and Relay For Life committee member, I feel extremely fortunate to be able to use my cancer experience to help those fighting this horrible disease.

Relay For Life is all about family and building community. The friendships I’ve made through volunteering, my fellow Relay For Life committee members, and the opportunity to meet all the brave Relay participants, survivors, and their loved ones on event day keep me coming back year after year.

With only 74 days to go until Relay For Life in Toronto, I’m inviting you to join me on track and accept the baton by registering as a team captain, participant, survivor, or volunteer.

Support me on the road to Relay by donating to my fundraising goal. Thanks in advance!

Who will you relay for?

(Photo snapped at the start of the luminary ceremony at Relay For Life 2014 in North York.)

Leave a Reply

