Happy Weekend + Links I Love


 

Sunset along the boardwalk

Happy Friday everyone! Is it just me or is this year flying by? I can’t believe it’s April already! I am already dreaming about rollerblading along the lakefront, biking on Toronto Islands, picnics and outdoor movies in the park.

What’s everyone up to this weekend? I haven’t been to ballet in weeks, so I’ll be making up for lost time with Développé Sculpt class tomorrow afternoon. Have a lovely weekend and as always, here’s a roundup of my favourite links for you to click through…

+ Elizabeth’s personal story on her battle with depression is so incredibly honest and ultimately hopeful. Well worth the read.

+ I picked up this pretty spring lipstick last week and I’m loving it. My lips feel so silky and smooth. What’s your go-to lipstick brand and shade?

+ Behind the scenes at Karlie Kloss’s new coding camp for girls. “The camp isn’t confined to classroom walls. Since space in the program is limited, the Kode with Klossy team hopes to virtually teach as many unaccepted applicants as possible this summer via live-streaming video and Flatiron’s online Learn.co platform (virtual students won’t have to pay for the program).”

+ Bobby Flay is the new Editor-in-Chief at Bon Appétit. Flay on his new role: “I’m stoked for this. I look forward to taking the helm and encouraging our readers to cook, eat, and live the best way they can. With one hundred percent more chile peppers.”

+ The Man Repeller team sat down with Mary Norris to discuss the English Language in the Age of the Internet.

+ How the 2016 Olympic logo and font were created.

+ Loved Kate’s post on why it’s time to be breaking up with your followers. “The broad sweeping panic reached far and wide from brands and bloggers big and small. While time would reveal the hoopla was just a small spat between quarreling lovers, I had a strong reaction to the dust that had been kicked up. I felt empathy for small businesses. I felt fear for myself. I felt disgusted by some brands.”

+ How I Knew I Wanted to Work in Fashion. Linda Fargo: “I had a cherished and constantly growing costume box that was filled with fashion, accessories and adornment odds and ends: a pair of sparkly, strappy evening heels, a tulle crinoline, a king’s crown, a cadet uniform, a wig, an old chiffon peignoir, a feathered hat…. All I had to do was slip into one of these relics of style, and I would be immediately immersed in a fantasy. I learned early on that what you wear can be transformative and speak for you.”

+ The prettiest dresses for spring.

+ The craving for public squares. “Seen whole, in all its variety and interconnectedness, urban health is expressed physically in a natural configuration of built forms across the city. The art of architecture requires not just making attractive buildings but providing citizens with generous, creative, open, inviting public spaces.”

+ I’m hooked on Alexa Chung’s Vogue series The Future of Fashion. This weekend, I’ll be catching up on the episodes I missed starting with Series 2 Episode 1 where Chung investigates the industry from a more business angle.

+ Favourites from my Instagram feed: When nature meets concrete via @melsays, Little video from our shoot last week via @karolinakuras, Long hair don’t care via @karliekloss,  Meet #OneLove, the star of our photo shoot via @ellecanada, Frank is that you? via @tarzandan.

Spring reading update:

Last night, I finished The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh. A beautiful, heartwarming story that will stay with me.

I’m currently making my way through Ayana Mathis’ bestseller The Twelve Tribes of Hattie. While I’m enjoying it, it’s taking me a lot longer to get through than I anticipated.

After readingand loving—Beatriz Williams’ The Secret Life of Violet Grant last summer and Tiny Little Thing just last week, I couldn’t wait to pick up Along the Infinite Sea.

This weekend, I’ll be starting Jon Ronson’s So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed and honestly, I’m a wee bit scared.

(Photo snapped at Toronto Harbourfront after grabbing birthday dessert.)

Leave a Reply

