Happy {Easter} Weekend + Links I Love


First sunset of spring

Happy Easter weekend everyone! It’s shaping up to be a beautiful one with lots of sunshine here in Toronto. It’s also my birthday weekend and I’ll celebrating at brunch with two of my closest friends on Sunday morning. How are you spending the long weekend?

I hope you have a beautiful weekend and try not to eat too many Easter eggs! As always, here’s a roundup of the links I’m loving lately…

+ The Easter basket gets a makeover. Loving the metallic bubble mailers and gold bar boxes.

+ Garance’s thoughts on famousness made me laugh. “That moment when you sit down at a cafe and someone from the cafe recognizes you, and without saying anything, they start sending out slices of apple pie, chocolate eclairs, and extra coffees, and shooting you knowing looks the whole time. You’re not sure how to thank them, but you can’t help but stuff yourself with all the treats.”

+ A makeup artist shares quick fixes for common makeup mistakes.

+ Watch: President Obama and Misty Copeland sat down to have a conversation about race, gender, and activism.

+ Humans of New York founder takes on Donald Trump. Stanton on his decision to speak out: “I saw my decision as a trade-off between upsetting people and making a strong moral statement.”

+ LaurenConrad.com got a brand new look and I am loving it. Also really loving her style guide on how to wear mixed metallics.

+ Closing apps to save your battery only makes things worse. Good to know. Try these tips instead: “Turn down your screen brightness. Turn off background refresh for apps. Use Low Power Mode in iOS, or enable Doze on Android.”

+ Ask a French girl about her job. Such an eye-opening interview.

+ Meghan on World Water Day and her recent trip to Rwanda.

+ This infographic shows us where access to clean water is getting better and worse.

+ This Lucky Peach feature: Checking in with Daniel Giusti and Brigaid. “Last night, Noma’s former head chef Daniel Giusti stood before the New London, Connecticut Board of Education to make the case for BrigAid, his new project that will bring chefs into schools. He received the green light. The pilot program will see six chefs each take over one of the schools in the small district. BrigAid will pay them salaries of $60,000, plus benefits.”

+ Favourite Instagrams lately: Harper has daddy stitching her dollies dresses via @victoriabeckham, Matchmaker via @rclayton, Great views of Seville from the top of the Metropol Parasol via @steph_gray31, Bad, bold and resilient via @gretaconstantine, Urban orange grove vibes via @saralongsworth

+ In case you missed it, I shared the 15 books I’ll be reading this spring.

Spring reading update:

+ On Monday, I finished Tiny Little Thing by Beatriz Williams and absolutely loved it. I’m making my way through all her books.

+ I am halfway through The Twelve Tribes of Hattie and really enjoying it.

+ This weekend, I’ll be picking up The Language of Flowers. This one has been on my to-be-read list for years.

Finally, my thoughts and prayers are with all those affected by the attack in Brussels earlier this week.

(Photo snapped on my Sunday evening walk on the first day of Spring.)

Leave a Reply

