Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Multi-layered skies

Happy first weekend of Spring, everyone! Are you ready for the weekend? It looks like it’s going to be a beautiful one (It’s a lovely 16 degrees celcius in Toronto tomorrow!). I’ll be taking advantage of the spring-like weather and heading to the Beaches to check out the Winter Stations. I’ve also got a few books left on my winter reading list so I’ll be tackling those this weekend.

I hope you have a good one and don’t forget to set your clocks forward an hour before heading to bed on Saturday night. As always, here are the links I loved this week…

+ My sister’s home makeover. Joanna shared a heartwarming post (complete with before and after photos) on her twin sister Lucy’s gorgeous home makeover. Lucy on the finished product: “I’m excited to come home now, I’m excited to have people over, I’m not itching to get out like I was before. I feel like a fresh, cool lady in my house. So much love and care went into it. The kindness of strangers is in my house.”

+ Loving Free People’s series, Wellness Encyclopedia. I found this post on maca and how to use it especially helpful.

+ Karlie Kloss talks beauty with Vogue. On how she stays model fit: “I’ve also recently got back into ballet, I missed it so much. I used to breathe, sleep, eat ballet – that was my life before being a model – so I really, really like going back into it, it feels like riding a bike. You hear the music and it’s ingrained in your head, plie, jete, rond de jambe – all of the vocabulary, all of the movements.” I feel the same way!

+ The New York Times takes us on a trip through Amazon’s first physical store.

+ Bookmarked this handy guide: How to tell if food is safe to eat.

+ This great TED Talk by Reshma Saujani, the founder of Girls Who Code landed in my inbox this week: Teach girls bravery, not perfection.

+ Watch: Meghan Markle on why feminism is not the F-word.

+ Loved Emily’s post, What’s in our fridge. “When I’m in the checkout line at the grocery store, I can’t help but peek inside other people’s shopping carts.” Good to know I’m not the only one who does this!

+ Loving this Harper’s BAZAAR April 2016 cover shoot and interview. Jennifer Aniston takes flight.

+ To make: this pretty rainbow cereal milkshake!

+ Watch Emeril prank the employees of Vogue, Glamour, GQ, and more.

+ In honour of International Women’s Day, Teen Vogue asked some of their favourite ladies on Instagram to celebrate the women who inspire them. Loved hearing what Misty Copeland and Lea Michele had to say.

+ Favourite Instagrams this week: My happy dance via @oliviapalermo, Basically I’m just waiting to go home and take off my pants via @emilymcdowell_, It feels like summer today in NYC via @brightbazaar, Leaf-like impressions are seen on the shore of Musa Bay, near the Shadegan Wildlife Refuge in Iran via @dailyoverview, “I didn’t go to college until I was fifty” via @humansofny

Winter reading update:

I finished Inside the O’Briens by Lisa Genova in just 3 days. I couldn’t put it down. When this book first came out, I avoided it as I figured it would be depressing, scary, and keep me up at night; I was wrong. The story of the O’Brien family hooked me from the first page and immediately captured my heart. This beautiful family novel teaches us to keep living in the face of tragedy, never take our health for granted, show compassion, be vulnerable, never allow fear to hold us back, and be present for those around us. A believable, compassionate portrayal of what it’s like to be diagnosed with and live with Huntington’s disease and how it affects loved ones.

I am halfway through Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town by Jon Krakauer.

This week, I started Tom Barbash’s short story collection, Stay Up With Me. It’s pretty flawless.

This weekend, I’ll be starting Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.

(Photo of that multi-layered sky snapped in my neighbourhood.)

One thought on “Happy Weekend + Links I Love

Leave a Reply

