Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Alexander Muir Memorial Gardens trail

Happy weekend friends. What are your weekend plans? I’ll be recuperating after yesterday evening’s intense Allegro and Sculpt class at The Extension Room. It’s becoming my favourite way to kick off the weekend. I’ve got a stack of winter reads to get started on this weekend (more on that below.)

Have a wonderful weekend! As always, here are the links I’m loving this week…

+ More Than an ‘Other’. “While my mixed heritage may have created a grey area surrounding my self-identification, keeping me with a foot on both sides of the fence, I have come to embrace that. To say who I am, to share where I’m from, to voice my pride in being a strong, confident mixed-race woman. That when asked to choose my ethnicity in a questionnaire as in my seventh grade class, or these days to check ‘Other’, I simply say: ‘Sorry, world, this is not Lost and I am not one of The Others. I am enough exactly as I am.’”

+ This Lucky Peach feature: Why we can’t cook on Mars.

+ I absolutely love A Cup of Jo’s My Beauty Uniform series. This week, Caroline interviewed ABT ballerina Courtney Lavine. I  can’t wait to try her trick for achieving the perfect ballet bun: “instead of using hair elastics — which break your hair because they’re tight — I cut off the top of a thigh high and pull my hair back with that.” Genius.

+ Swooning over Elsie’s breakfast nook.

+ Fleeing Trump (or Clinton): Look Out, Canada, Here They Come. “The rise of Canada’s left-leaning government last year has made for a “perfect storm” of daydreaming by American liberals about a new life north of the border. Breathtaking landscapes and cradle-to-grave health care don’t hurt the case either.”

+ National Geographic hosted a My Adventure of the Year photo contest on Instagram. Here are the top ten photos.

+ Great skin–Inside and Out: A Turmeric Latte. Would you try it?

+ Life & Business: Kimone Young. An incredible interview with a young jewelry designer.

Listen up: Garance Doré’s Pardon My French premiered on Thursday. In the first episode, Garance talks friendship with Emily Mortimer and Dolly Wells.

+ Watching this weekend: Lone Star Nurse, The New Yorker’s new TV show about a Texas nurse who works with teenage mothers.

+ Favourite Instagrams: When you can’t stop laughing…during a very serious scene via @meghanmarkle,  Art is life via @darrenvirtue_photography, I’d fly the river, to the one I love via @westcoastmuse, Rui Huang stretching it out before a double show day via @nationalballet.

Winter reading update:

This morning, I finished When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi. So many thoughts.

Reading this weekend: Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town by Jon Krakauer from my winter reading list and Inside the O’Briens by Lisa Genova, my pick for the ‘a book that intimidates me’ category of the MMD 2016 Reading Challenge.

(Photo snapped while exploring the trails by Alexander Muir Memorial Gardens.)

Leave a Reply

