Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Sunset at Naval Base

Happy weekend! I hope you had a wonderful week. Yesterday evening, I kicked off the weekend with Double Bill Allegro and Sculpt at The Extension Room. It’s the perfect blend of cardio and strength training and I absolutely loved it!

Got any fun weekend plans? I’ve got some friends visiting from overseas and I’m looking forward to catching up with them over dinner. If you’re in the mood for a bit of internet browsing, here’s a roundup of links I’m loving this week…

+ It’s Oscars weekend. Are you hosting a party? The TIG has got you covered with their Oscar Party Entertaining Tips complete with ballots for you and your guests.

+ Watch: Why props matter. An ode to film props.

+ Garance announced the release of her new podcast, Pardon My French. The first episode is out next Thursday!

+ A pretty incredible interview from The Everygirl. From Baltimore to Broadway with Kamille Upshaw of Hamilton: An American Musical. “I have grown the most in environments where I am not the best and I am continuously pushed to be better—to become the best! Beyoncé has “Sasha Fierce” and at an early age in my dance career my alter ego developed and comes out to say hi, but I haven’t named her yet! She’s the type who loves to be challenged, never intimidated.”

+ What really happens on TV cooking competitions. Who are the bigger babies: MasterChef adults or MasterChef kids? “The adults! Adults are guarded and tricky. They are also the bigger babies. But we love them, all the same.”

+ Real Talk / Personal Growth. Loved hearing Bri and the Design Love Fest team’s thoughts on this topic.

+ This is why I love HONY. “I always wanted to be someone in the fashion industry. Maybe a stylist for the magazines. Instead I’m working as an office assistant at a pharmaceutical company. Though I must say, I think the office looks better because of me. I’ve been handing out tips. People are sprucing up a bit more. Some of the ladies are trying new lipsticks. We’re loosening up.”

+ We are hopelessly hooked. “Our transformation into device people has happened with unprecedented suddenness. The first touchscreen-operated iPhones went on sale in June 2007, followed by the first Android-powered phones the following year. Smartphones went from 10 percent to 40 percent market penetration faster than any other consumer technology in history.”

+ I enjoyed The NY Times Magazine piece, Failure to Lunch from its series, The Work Issue.

+ Favourite Instagrams this week: Gettin’ piggy with it via @rosielondoner, Allegro in paradise via @extensionmethod, Sitting by the fire, keeping warm via @muenchmax, Sylphs in motion via @karolinakuras,  Love waking up with the sun via @jjbegonia, Taking a bite out of Milan fashion week via @karliekloss, Something I can really get behind via @viewfrom5ft2.

Winter reading update:

Last night, I finished The Far Side of The Sky by Daniel Kalla. In this historical novel set in Second World War Shanghai, Kalla draws on his medical background and skillfully weaves a story where religions and continents collide. I learned a lot about an often-unexplored event in history — the role Shanghai played in the survival of German Jewish refugees during World War II. I can’t wait to pick up the second book in the trilogy!

This weekend, I’ll be starting Paul Kalanithi’s memoir, When Breath Becomes Air. It’s my ‘book published this year’ pick for the MMD reading challenge.

(Photo snapped at HMCS York on Tuesday evening.)

Leave a Reply

