Happy Weekend + Links I Love


sunset

Happy Friday, everyone. I hope you had a lovely week. We got blanketed with a ton of snow this week and everything looks so pretty. On Tuesday, I went for a long, snowy walk along the Kay Gardner Beltline trail. It was so beautiful and peaceful. It’s supposed to feel like spring tomorrow, so I might hit the trail in the afternoon. What are your weekend plans?

Whatever you do, enjoy and stay safe. If you plan on cozying up on the couch, here’s a roundup of my favourite links for you to click through…

+ The New York Times interactive feature, How much warmer was your city in 2015? is pretty fascinating.

+ How foreign directors are flipping the script on Hollywood story ideas. Mark Johnson, head of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ foreign-language film committee says, “It used to be that everyone was excited to see the new movie coming out of Italy, France, Spain or Germany. But now you’re just as likely to see a film from Jordan or Peru that will knock your socks off. Amazing stuff is coming out of South America. Filmmakers in Chile, Argentina, Colombia are vibrant. There’s an excitement with young filmmakers.”

+ Watch: Anna Wintour shares her impressions on the top New York Fashion Week shows. I really need to play catch up this weekend.

+ I am pretty excited about Design Sponge’s new series, Reading Spaces. This week: an interview with YA author Jason Reynolds.

+ Watch: Reese Witherspoon’s adorable movie quotes video. It’s the first episode of her brand Draper James’ new Southern Guide series with Who What Wear.

+ This week, I started watching Alexa Chung’s documentary series, The Future of Fashion. I am loving it! I can’t wait to watch the rest this weekend.

+ The most stunning images from the Marchesa Fall 2016 show.

+ Watch: Chef Jacques Pépin demonstrates 7 mesmerizing knife techniques.

+ Bri designed the prettiest party paper plates, cups and napkins for Target. They just scream fun!

+ So much good stuff on Instagram lately. My favourites: Miranda Kerr gets a cut via @mirandakerr, Turquoise bridges via @saralongsworth, Not so calmly sitting on the edge of a 1500m drop via @tuulavintage, Classy class at the store opening of Saks Canada via @nationalballet, Pupperazzi via @gemmacorrell, Aristocratic opulence at Dolce & Gabbana via @patmcgrathreal.

Winter reading update:

Last week, I finished The Shell Seekers and it’s safe to say it’s one of the best pieces of fiction I’ve ever read. It’s a classic for a reason.

On Saturday night, I stayed up late to finish Tim Johnston’s thriller, Descent. I just couldn’t wait to find out how it ended, but I also didn’t want it to end. I found myself holding my breath throughout. A well-written, edge-of-your-seat read.

Last night, I finished The Glass Castle and I can’t believe it took me this long to pick up this beautifully-crafted memoir. It made me angry, it made me cry, it made me shake my head in disbelief.

This weekend I’ll be starting Daniel Kalla’s historical novel, The Far Side of the Sky. Have you read it?

(Photo of Thursday evening’s breathtaking sunset snapped in my neighbourhood.)

Leave a Reply

