Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Winter sunset

Happy Friday everyone. I hope you had a productive first week of February. I kept up with my ballet routine this week and I couldn’t be more thrilled. Last night, I took Développé ballet sculpt for the first time in a year and I’m surprised I could get out of bed this morning. I’m feeling the burn.

Got any fun plans this weekend? If I can feel my legs by tomorrow, I really want to go ice-skating. If not, I’ll be curled up on the couch watching this Woody Allen movie. Have you seen it? Have a beautiful weekend! Here’s a roundup of the links I absolutely loved this week…

+ Humans of New York has been sharing prison stories this week. They are all incredibly moving, but Michelle’s story really broke my heart. “I’ve got a daughter out there. I’ve been gone for 23 years now. It’s really hurt her. But she’s been very successful despite me. She’s a stylist. She’s doing so well. I can’t do much in here to support her, but I try my best. I’ve ordered all the fashion magazines: Vogue, Marie Claire, Elle, Bazaar. She’s too busy to read them all, so I look through them and try to find something that might help her. I set aside anything that she might be able to use for an Instagram post.”

+ It’s World Nutella Day. Are you celebrating?

+ The Buzz Books Spring/Summer Preview. One hundred plus books to add to your 2016 reading list.

+ It’s about time! Even Kate Winslet thinks Rose let Jack die in ‘Titanic’. Winslet told Jimmy Kimmel, “You know, I think he could have actually fit on that bit of door.”

+ The Noma Way: How Danish superstar René Redzepi created an entirely new restaurant in Australia. A long read to curl up with this weekend.

+ Last year, Darling magazine partnered with International Justice Mission, a global organization that protects the poor from violence in the developing world. Here’s a year in review of all that’s been accomplished.

+ Superbowl snacking done right: Sticky mango curry oven baked boneless wings and Margherita Pizza Dip with Burrata.

+ The ‘Me Before You’ trailer is out. I’m glad I finally read the book last summer.

+ Favourites on Instagram this week: Rafting Martha Brae via @collagevintage, Modern love doesn’t come standard with GPS via @emilymcdowell_, and Dancers keep hands on hips when wearing a tutu to maintain the tutu’s beautiful shape via @nationalballet

Winter reading update:

I finished Big Little Lies on Tuesday night and it’s by far my favourite by Liane Moriarty.

I am still making my way through The Shell Seekers and Descent. If you’re looking for a good weekend read, I highly recommend both.

This weekend, I’m finally picking up Jeannette Walls’ memoir, The Glass Castle. I’m pretty sure I must be the only person on earth who hasn’t read it yet.

(Photo of that gorgeous winter sky from my Instagram snapped while reading in Alexander Muir Memorial Gardens on February 1st.)

Leave a Reply

