Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Distillery District brick buildings

Happy Saturday everyone. I hope you had a great week! Earlier this week, Village Juicery moved into my neighbourhood and I couldn’t be happier.

It’s going to be a chilly weekend with tons of sunshine here in Toronto. I’m taking my goal to stay active in every season very seriously, so I’m off to dance up a storm at The Extension Room Open House. Got any fun plans this weekend? If you’re in the path of Winter Storm Jonas, bundle up and stay safe. As always, here’s a round-up of the links I’m loving this week…

+ An incredibly important read: This Verily article, A trafficking survivor shares how we can combat modern-day slavery. “Like Martin Luther King Jr., I too have a dream. My dream led me to co-found The Dreamcatcher Foundation, an outreach and education program that helps victims of human trafficking, the slavery of our time. I have hope that we will end trafficking.

+ Tips for using social media to tell your story. Love the Instagram and Pinterest tips!

+ Must read: The New York Times interviewed Dr. Lucy Kalanithi on keeping Dr. Paul Kalanithi’s voice alive. Brave and touching.

+ The 5 things I do to give my goals a fighting chance. “I love, love, love saying no, and logging my time gives me free-and-clear permission to do so, guilt-free. I’m a firm believer that we should say no to absolutely everything but the essentials in our life, and that we “need” to do far less than we really do.”

+ The best time to buy an airplane ticket. Bookmarked.

+ I thoroughly enjoyed Bri’s thoughts on taking DesignLoveFest in a new direction. “i talk to bloggers all the time that say they are feeling less motivated to put effort into their blogs because the engagement is so low now (people just want to hit “like” on something, they don’t want to sign in and comment.) here’s my hope. that we can bring back some of the engagement to this blog and make it more of an open forum, a community.”

+This Lucky Peach interview: Cooking for the Queen.

+ I can’t wait to catch up on the What Should I Read Next? podcast. Episode 3: Books that make you feel smart (and not so smart) came out on Tuesday.

+ Favourites on Instagram this week: Seeing double today and work out today was en pointe via @karliekloss

Winter reading update:

I am halfway through The Shell Seekers by Rosamunde Pilcher and absolutely loving it. A beautifully-written family story.

I picked up The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith again. Last week, I got stuck on a graphic part and took a much-needed break. I’m hoping to finally finish it this weekend.

(Photo snapped in The Distillery District this week.)

Leave a Reply

