Happy Weekend + Links I Love


En route to the airport

Happy weekend, friends. How was your first week of 2016? I made a short list of doable goals and I’m already taking steps to achieve them. I hope to read 100 books this year so I joined the 2016 MMD Reading Challenge for motivation and inspiration. I’ve got 3 books on the go at the moment. I’m also making good on my promise to stay active, so tomorrow I’m going to my first ballet class of the year. I am really looking forward to it.

It’s a rainy weekend here in Toronto. Seriously, where is the snow? Tonight, I’ve got a date with my couch and I’ll be catching up on season 3 of Homeland. Which TV shows are you watching lately? I hope you have a wonderful weekend! Here’s a roundup of my favourite links this week…

+ This NY Times Op-Ed piece had me sniffling: My Marriage Didn’t End When I Became a Widow. Do not read in public.

+ Also, I added the moving memoir: When Breath Becomes Air to my reading list this week. It’s out on Tuesday, January 12. Here’s the New York Times review.

+ Exploring New Zealand: A photographer’s journey across 15, 500 miles. Johan Lolos on how his photographer friends inspired him to work harder to get the best shots: “They taught me to chase the soft light, to seek for contrasts, to actually hike a few hours to get a perfect shot from the top of a mountain.”

+ Bookmarking The Tig’s great insider’s guide to Reykjavik.

+ The search for the perfect bone broth recipe has ended. Bone broth 101.

+ Last year, one of my goals was to finally learn French. It didn’t happen. But Victoria’s post on how to learn a language (when you’re an adult) inspired me to just. do. it. in 2016!

+ Spreading kindness: I found out about the Bystander Revolution thanks to the very informative piece, Stop the Social Savagery in this month’s issue of Glamour magazine. Have you heard of it?

+ This week’s favourites from my Instagram feed: the frozen custard sign from @jjbegonia and this breathtaking shot from @george_byrne.

+ In case you missed it, I narrowed down my MMD 2016 Reading Challenge picks and shared them in a post this week. I’m starting with my ‘book you can read in a day’ pick, Last Night at the Lobster by Stewart O’Nan.

Winter reading update:

This week, I finished my first read of 2016: 2 A.M. at The Cat’s Pajamas by Marie-Helene Bertino and I can’t stop talking about it. The story is set in Philadelphia on a snowy Christmas Eve Eve. I fell in love with each character, especially spunky nine-year-old Madeleine Altimari. An utterly charming, witty, moving, surprised-filled read that belongs on your list.

Still making my way through Tales from the Back Row by Amy Odell.

On Wednesday, I started The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith and I am loving every minute of it.

After much deliberation, I finally picked up What Alice Forgot and I am really enjoying it. I can’t believe it took me this long to read it.

What do you hope to accomplish in 2016?

(Photo snapped en route to LaGuardia. Missing New York.)

Leave a Reply

