Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Fall colours in Forest HillHappy weekend! It’s been a windy and rainy November so far but we’re getting a bit of a break from the wet weather this weekend. This week I finished Room and I am finally going to watch the movie in the coming week. Have you seen it yet? This evening, I’m heading downtown with friends to the annual Illuminite event complete with live music, dance performances, acrobats, and of course, the tree lighting ceremony.

If you’re taking it easy this weekend, here are my favourite links from this week for you to click through. Enjoy and be safe!

+ In Their Words: Seeing Chaos and Looking for Hope in Paris. Parisians who witnessed the attacks speak out. [Praying for the people of Paris; that the Lord will heal the wounded, comfort the grieving, and turn ashes into beauty.]

+ A bittersweet story: Fadeout near for traveling ‘Cinema Paradiso’ in Portugal. “After six decades traveling four million km (2.5 million miles) to screen 4,000 films in Portugal’s far-flung villages, Feliciano does not plan to retire just yet. But he is resigned to the fact that the Internet, digital TV and distribution monopolies have made his craft obsolete.

+ Listen: Fresh Air’s Ann Marie Baldonado interviews actress Brie Larson about finding light within the darkness of ‘Room’.

+ Two of my favourites get together: Homemade salted caramel eggnog.

+ Social Media vs. Real Life. Emily weighs in on social media and its authenticity.

+ Bath & Body Works Holiday Collection is in-store and online. I picked up their holiday hand soaps in Merry Cookie and Holiday Peach Punch.

+ Gift Curiously with Fossil. I can’t wait to flex my creative muscles with a pin board on Pinterest!

+ On the wish list: these combat boots in cognac.

+ Yesterday I went window shopping and left the mall with this poncho and I am loving it. I’ll be pairing it with everything!

Fall reading update:

I am still working my way through A Fairy Tale by Jonas T. Bengtsson from my fall reading list.

I finished Room earlier this week. It was my second time reading it and I loved it even more than I did five years ago. A flawlessly written, compulsively readable, funny and poignant story.

I picked up After You, the follow-up to Jojo Moyes’ bestseller Me Before You. I’m enjoying it so far.

(Photo snapped in Forest Hill.)

Leave a Reply

