Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Roy Thomson Hall

Happy weekend! For the most part, I’ve been taking it easy. Yesterday, I met up with friends and did a bit of shopping in Kensington Market. Earlier this week, I started re-reading Room and I’m feeling all emotional. I read this poignant and captivating story when it first came out back in 2010 and it’s stayed with me. I’ve recommended it to pretty much everyone over the years. If you’re looking for a great read, this one is a safe bet. I can’t wait to finish it so I can watch the movie. Have you seen it yet?

I hope you’re enjoying what’s left of the weekend! As always, here are the links I really enjoyed this week…

+ The Glass Castle is coming to the big screen. Woody Harrelson in talks to star opposite Brie Larson. Am I the only one who hasn’t read this memoir?

+ I got hit by a subway and I had no insurance. “It’s pathetic that pretty much every developed country except for the United States has universal health care.” A hard-hitting read.

+ Must watch: Garance chats with Emmanuelle Alt about style. And in case you missed it: her inspiring interview with Diane von Furstenberg about her career.

+ Instagram co-founder Mike Krieger on five years of building Instagram. “In 2010, the night before we launched Instagram v1, my co-founder Kevin and I bet on how many people would download the app its first day in the wild. Kevin guessed 2,500, and in an especially optimistic moment, I went big and guessed 25,000. The next day, the realist in me couldn’t believe I had hit it on the nose.”

+ Have a listen: Jess chats with beauty vlogger Anna Gardner of the popular YouTube channel and blog, Vivianna Does Makeup. Bookmarking her blog right now!

+ This Atlantic article on why writers shouldn’t romanticize rejection really got me thinking. “Time and time again, the literary establishment seizes on the story of a writer who meets inordinate obstacles, including financial struggles, crippling self-doubt, and rejection across the board, only to finally achieve the recognition and success they deserve.”

+ Jamie captured the most beautiful shots of Marchesa’s dreamy Spring/Summer 2016 runway show.

+ This affogato dessert bar would be perfect for a girls’ night in.

+ In love with Julia’s perfect fall look.

Fall reading update:

I finished The Secret Life of Violet Grant earlier this week. Packed with love, ambition and lots of intrigue. Guaranteed to keep you up past your bedtime.

Picked up A Fairy Tale by Jonas T. Bengtsson today and can’t wait to dig in.

(Photo snapped outside Roy Thomson Hall.)

Leave a Reply

