Happy Weekend + Links I Love


fall colours

Happy Friday everyone. What are you up to this weekend? Trees are bursting with red, yellow, and orange and I am heading to High Park to take in the fall foliage before it disappears. I got tickets for The Power of Ideas 2015 SIPO Conference which is on tomorrow. The incredible lineup of speakers include Dave Wilkin, founder of TenThousandCoffees.com; Bob Proctor, chairman and co-founder of Proctor Gallagher Institute; Marnie Kay, founder and CEO of Meraki House Publishing; and Pamela Paterson, bestselling author of Get The Job, among others. I am looking forward to connecting with inspirational people.

I hope you have a lovely weekend and just a friendly reminder: if you’re in North America, the clocks fall back at 2 a.m. on Sunday. As always, here’s a look at my favourites from around the web this week…

+ Loving Vogue.com’s new project, Reggae Revival. I especially enjoyed this interview with Patricia Chin and this long read, Meet the Millennial Musicians Behind Jamaica’s New Movement.

+ I hopped back on the Homeland train. I stopped watching it about two years ago and I have idea why. I finished all of season 2 last night. Are you a fan?

+ A handy guide for viewing fall colours in Ontario Parks.

+ A great interview with Magician’s Assistant Nathalie Holmes.

+ What Canada’s new government might mean for U.S. relations. “While Trudeau has pledged his support for the pipeline, which would deliver oil from the Alberta oil sands region to U.S. refineries, overall support for the venture in Canada is tepid.”

+ No umbrella needed. First look inside LACMA’s rain room.

+ I’ve got my eye on these pretty, pretty party dresses.

+ Worth watching: Lenny Abrahamson narrates a sequence from ‘Room’.

+ Finally, a desk I can get behind.

+ High point of my week: Shanna Mahin replied to my tweet! Her first novel deserves a spot on your reading list.

Fall reading update:

I picked up Oh! You Pretty Things by Shanna Mahin and raced through it in three days. This debut novel made me laugh out loud and nod appreciatively at all the spot-on Hollywood references. An insider look at friendship, family, and the many facets of fame in Tinseltown. Friendly warning: a light dusting of curse words.

This weekend, I’ll be curling up with The Secret Life of Violet Grant. It’s my first novel by Beatriz Williams and I’m expecting great things. Have you read it?

(Photo snapped in the Forest Hill area earlier this week.)

Leave a Reply

