Happy Weekend + Links I Love


toronto fashion week

Happy Friday! The transition to fall has been a bumpy one; one minute I’m throwing on my leather jacket, the next I’m scrambling for my down parka, scarf and gloves. In an attempt to get in the fall spirit, I’ve swapped out my regular hand soap for this seasonal scent– Cozy Vanilla Cream from Bath & Body Works.

This weekend, I’ll be busting out the flannel pajamas and binge-watching Homeland. I’m two seasons behind. Have you been watching? What’s everyone up to this weekend? I hope you have a good one! As always, I’m sharing my favourites from around the web this week…

+ ‘Homeland’ Times Two: Claire Danes and Jeh Johnson.

+ True story: You can never have too many scarves. And Zara is killing it in the cozy scarves department. On the wishlist: double sided checked and striped scarf, soft check scarf, and geometric jacquard scarf.

+ Victoria launched The Party Podcast. I really enjoyed the one on throwing a dance party!

+ The NY Times makes a case for preschool: why what you learned in preschool is crucial at work. “Preschool classrooms look a lot like the modern work world. Children move from art projects to science experiments to the playground in small groups, and their most important skills are sharing and negotiating with others.”

+ What I wish more knew: Down Syndrome Awareness Month. “She taught me how to do that. How to stop. How to slow down. How to enjoy something as simple as oatmeal for breakfast. My daughter has Down syndrome.” Incredibly moving.

+ Pumpkin Spice Cinnamon Rolls. Because it’s the season.

+ Sarah Silverman opens up to Fresh Air’s Terry Gross about depression, comedy and troublemaking. Her much-anticipated new movie I Smile Back opens today in select theatres.

+ Room is also out in theatres this weekend. I devoured the book during a four-hour long plane ride when it came out back in 2010. One word: Unforgettable.

+ Goop breaks down the ABC’s of Vitamin B.

+ Joanna put together this list of 10 great audiobooks. I’ve avoided audio books up until this point given my short attention span. But I might try Garlic and Sapphires from my Fall reading list on audio.

+ This year’s National Book Awards finalists unveiled. I haven’t read any of these picks yet. How about you?

Fall reading update:

+ A couple of days ago, I finished Small Mercies by Eddie Joyce. The story takes place ten years after 9/11 and zeroes in on an Italian-Irish American family on Staten Island. Joyce paints a startling portrait of how each family member copes with the tragic loss of the youngest son, Bobby a firefighter. A stunningly executed, profoundly relatable read. I can’t recommend it enough!

+ I’m still reading The Martian and laughing out loud in public. A great subway read.

+ This weekend I’m picking up The News Sorority by Sheila Weller.

(Photo snapped outside the tents at Toronto Fashion Week.)

Leave a Reply

