Happy {Long} Weekend + Links I Love


Inside Out

Happy Sunday everyone and happy thanksgiving weekend to all the Canadian readers! After braving the chilly temps and crowds for the sake of art last weekend, I’ll be keeping cozy on the couch this weekend. I finished The Girl You Left Behind earlier this week and I am a bit sad. I just didn’t want the story to end. Also, I’m still working my way through The Martian. And now that I’ve watched the movie (go see it!), the book is even more vivid and thrilling.

Got any fun plans? As always, I’m sharing a bunch of great links for your weekend browsing…

+ When we feel overwhelmed by all the needs. “We don’t have to do everything. We only need to do our part.” A great reminder.

+ The Uncondemned, a documentary by filmmakers Nick Louvel and Michele Mitchell is slated to debut at the Hamptons international film festival. “Both film-makers were passionate about the film’s message that mass rape is often a pre-meditated tool, not a spontaneous prize, of war.”

+ A peek at the backstage food at New York Fashion Week.

+ Loved this interview with stylist Ayanna James.

+ Awesome DIY: These abstract painted pumpkins.

+ Super cute combat boots. Found!

+ Made space on my coffee table for Humans of New York: Stories. It’s out on Tuesday!

+ And finally, October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Take action against breast cancer. Go for screening. Get support. Give generously. Text NINE to 45678 and donate $10 to fight breast cancer. Canadian residents ONLY. Find out more at http://cancer.ca/fightbreastcancer

Fall reading update:

+ As mentioned above, I’m still reading The Martian. I highly recommend you pick it up!

+ Up next on the reading list: Small Mercies by Eddie Joyce.

(Photo of NY-based artist JR’s Inside Out project snapped at City Hall during Nuit Blanche.)

Leave a Reply

