Happy Weekend + Links I Love


skyride

Happy Labour Day weekend to all the Canadian and US readers. This week was an incredibly busy one, so today, I’ve carved out some time for doing absolutely nothing at all. Tomorrow is the final day of the Canadian National Exhibition and I’ll be getting my fill of fair foods like coffee doughnut milkshake and of course, funnel cake.

It’s almost time to close the doors on summer. It’s been an action-packed one and I’ve pretty much crossed off all the items on my summer bucket list. While I’ll miss watching movies under star-filled skies and rollerblading along the waterfront, I am excited to see what the upcoming season will bring. In the meantime, here are a few posts I’ve been loving this week…

+ The New York Times reviewed Janet Jackson’s Unbreakable World Tour which kicked off in Vancouver last week.

+ Google’s new logo is its biggest update in 16 years. Love it or hate it?

+ How Google Finally Got Design. A long one, but well-worth the read.

+ On the trail of a mentally ill brother, lost in Brooklyn. “We left a card with a mechanic who said he had seen Mr. Daley. Then we walked into the library. My phone rang. It was the police officer. “He’s here,” the officer said. “Right near the entrance to the subway.”

+ An ‘out of this world’ TED Talk: I leapt from the stratosphere. Here’s how I did it.

+ Q&A with ‘The Martian’ author Andy Weir. I plan on picking up this novel before catching the movie premiere at TIFF next Friday night.

+ Faking It: In the aisles at one of Hollywood’s largest prop houses.

+ Egypt’s sand baths. Would you try it?

+ New York Fashion Week kicks off on Thursday. Stay organized with the official schedule.

Summer reading update:

I am almost finished my summer reading list.

+ I am working my way through It’s What I Do by Lynsey Addario, The Oyster Catcher by Jo Thomas, and Daring Greatly by Brené Brown.

+ I finished Still Life by Louise Penny (not on the summer reading list) this week and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the next title in the series, Dead Cold. I ended up buying the 10th anniversary box set containing the first three novels in the Chief Inspector Gamache series for an amazing price.

(Photo of the skyride at the Canadian National Exhibition.)

Leave a Reply

