Happy Weekend + Links I Love


Pekoe KombuchaHappy weekend, friends. This week, cooler temperatures sneaked up on us here in Toronto forcing us to pull out scarves and sweaters. Pumpkin spice drinks may have started popping up on coffee shop menus and mannequins in shop windows may be decked out in fall trends, but I refuse to let go of summer just yet. I’m still working on my summer bucket list after all.

How are you spending the final weekend of August? I hope the weather is gorgeous wherever you are. As always, I’m sharing the links I clicked and loved this week. Enjoy…

+ A great list of inspiring career books from A Cup of Jo.

+ Jennifer’s post on the one phrase we all need to eliminate from our vocabulary really hit home and got me thinking deeply about identity and all those times I’ve allowed the words of others to define me, instead of simply resting in the truth that I am a child of God.

+ Thoroughly enjoyed reading about and checking out the stunning photos of Mike’s adventures across Michigan.

+ “There’s something in your teeth…” had me nodding my head enthusiastically. “Personally, I would rather someone just tell me if I have lipstick smeared on my front teeth than let me walk around smiling like a dope all day, even if they are a stranger.” Agreed! I always appreciate it when someone let’s me know when something is off and I happily return the favour. It’s the neighbourly thing to do.

+ Catalan project harvests unwanted fruit and veg for people in need. “For the past year, the project has been in touch with farmers across the north-east region of Catalonia, offering to send volunteers to pick produce that has been left in the fields for reasons of aesthetics, ripeness or low sales.”

+ Vogue.com announced plans to roll out its newest section, Vogue Runway.

+ How to up your eyeliner game: focus on your lower lashline. Can’t wait to try these tips!

+ Movie-watching and stargazing simplified with the just-released TIFF schedule. TIFF 2015 is only 10 days away.

Summer reading:

+ Finished reading Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín. Now I’m counting down the days until the film premieres at TIFF.

+ Next on the summer reading list: The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine. If you’ve read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

(Photo of my favourite summer drink from Pekoe Kombucha Bar.)

Leave a Reply

