Happy Weekend + Links I Love


miami ice gourmet ice pop

Happy Sunday! I hope you’re having a lovely summer weekend. The Canadian National Exhibition kicked off on Friday. Every year, I try and make it to the fair grounds on opening day; the tickets are only $8! I popped by for a couple of hours and checked out one of my favourites–the SuperDogs show–and of course, scoped out all the wild and crazy fair food on offer. I tried a refreshing gourmet ice pop from Miami Ice. (pictured above.) Make sure to visit them in the food building. I plan on spending my next day off checking out all the other shows and a bunch of rides.

If you’re in the reading mood, here’s a bunch of links I’m loving this week…

+ What’s on the menu at the CNE this year. The coffee and donut milkshake sounds like a must-try.

+ Just how tall can roller coasters get? An interactive guide for you to consult before you ride.

+ On Edge. An amazing piece on Cate Blanchett by New York Times Style Magazine.

+ A winning combination: gingham and stripes.

+ For all my fellow ice cream lovers: this yummy post, Ice Cream Tour of Hong Kong.

+ How to stop overscheduling yourself. If you’re like me and find it difficult to say no, this one is a must-read. As I’m learning, boundaries are so very necessary.

+ Loved this feature: Fantasies of a Happier Kitchen.

Summer reading update:

+ This morning, I finished The Summer of Good Intentions. Well worth the read.

+ I’m burning through Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín. I hope to finish it before checking out the movie premiere at TIFF in two weeks.

+ Up next on the summer reading list: War photographer Lyndsey Addario’s candid memoir It’s What I Do.

(Photo snapped on the opening day at the CNE.)

One thought on “Happy Weekend + Links I Love

Leave a Reply

