Happy Weekend + Links I Love


graffiti alley chameleonHappy Sunday! It’s been one of those perfect summer weekends with blue, cloudless skies. Yesterday, I spent a relaxing morning by the lake, had lunch at this place (I ordered the Apple Porkfection which I was happy to discover lived up to its name!), and strolled through Kensington Market.

I hope you’re savouring these glorious summer days. As always, I’m sharing a bunch of noteworthy links I stumbled upon this week…

+ I came across this post, why we need rest and solitude at the perfect time. “When we are too self-assured with our own abilities, we are drawing from a limited resource. When we are too busy to stop and rest, we are too busy.”

+ More Than an ‘Other’ by the lovely Meghan Markle is worth reading.

+ Lauren shares her amazing guide on how to host a ladies’ night in.

+ Beach Town. A feature by Anthony Bourdain.

+ Worth the read: This alarming exposé, The Bail Trap by New York Times Magazine. “The long-term damage that bail inflicts on vulnerable defendants extends well beyond incarceration. Disappearing into the machinery of the justice system separates family members, interrupts work and jeopardizes housing.”

+ Take note: 10 tips for upping your burger game from A Cup of Jo.

+ I just discovered The Coveteur’s Deskside series. This interview with Emily Weiss, Founder and CEO of Glossier and Into the Gloss is pretty amazing.

+ Toasted marshmallow ice cream cake with salted caramel screams summer.

+ This NY Times opinion piece, The Closing of the Canadian Mind. “Mr. Harper’s campaign for re-election has so far been utterly consistent with the personality trait that has defined his tenure as prime minister: his peculiar hatred for sharing information.”

+ I am currently reading Brooklyn by Colm Toibin and I am in awe. It’s not on my summer reading list, but TIFF announced that the adaptation will be premiering at the festival next month. I decided to read it in advance of the film. If you’re interested, check out the trailer.

Summer reading update:

+ Finally finished The New Yorkers, from my summer reading list. Such a beautiful story.

+ Started Still Life by Louise Penny this week and I’m flying through it. Thanks for the recommendation, Anne.

+ Also reading and loving The Summer of Good Intentions. Throw this one in your beach bag, but be forewarned: it’s much, much more than just a beach read.

(Photo snapped in Graffiti Alley.)

Leave a Reply

