How I Stay Rooted in God’s Word


The vine and the branches

At the beginning of the year, I vowed to read and study God’s Word every single day. But I needed a plan. So when my church launched its one-year Bible challenge, I jumped in feet first. But after only a few days of reading the passages that landed in my inbox every morning, I grew weary.

So I decided to try a different approach.

I found a quiet spot, prayed and asked God to reveal to me what He wanted to teach me this year and waited. When I opened my Bible, my eyes landed on this passage:

“Do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?” {Matthew 6:25-27}

This knocked me off my feet. While I’d read this portion of Scripture more times than I can count, it took on new meaning given my current situation. Being unemployed, my future financial needs top my list of worries.

But Jesus doesn’t stop there. He doesn’t leave us hanging. He tells us to:

“Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” {Matthew 6:33 NIV}

He makes it abundantly clear what should be scribbled at the top of our to-do lists – seek his kingdom and his righteousness first. God knows our needs. He knows our thoughts, fears and worries and He cares. In that moment, I knew He wanted to teach me how to quit worrying about future needs, rely on Him as my provider and simply enjoy today.

So I took the hint, sat down with my journal and asked God this question: What do you want to teach me about money? Then I embarked on a personal Bible study on money which has helped me to weed out anxious thoughts before they take root.

Here’s my five-step plan for staying rooted in God’s Word:

1. Make it a date

Life gets busy and God knows this. But we need to make spending time with Him our top priority. For me, I’ve made a commitment to read my Bible and journal after breakfast. Just like how we carve out time in our overstuffed schedules for friends, we need to make dates with God (and keep them). We invest in our relationships with others, why should our relationship with our heavenly Father be any different?

2. Listen to worship music

Listening to soothing music gets me in the right frame of mind to soak in God’s presence. Home by Laura Woodley Osman never fails to calm my mind and still my heart.

3. Pray for guidance before you open your Bible

Once I started praying for guidance as to what to read, the pieces of the puzzle just clicked into place. Instead of reading in a vacuum, the Holy Spirit nudges me in the right direction. Over the past two weeks, God has used situations in my life to shine light on particular traits and habits He wants to cut away; habits like speaking too much, responding before listening, and speaking without weighing the impact of my words on others.

4. Write it down

Invest in a good journal. While reading my Bible, I make note of the verses that stand out to me and write down my thoughts in response to what I read. Then I jot down any questions I have in relation to a particular Bible verse. I ask God what lessons He hopes to teach me and for the strength to apply what I learn to my everyday life. The simple act of writing helps us to better process what we read.

5. Memorize verses on the go

When I come across a verse that really speaks to my heart, I immediately make a note of it in my phone. While I’m riding the subway or standing in line at the grocery store, I study Bible verses and commit them to memory. This final step has made all the difference in my quest to abide in Jesus, cling to our Savior and stay connected to our life-giver.

2 thoughts on “How I Stay Rooted in God’s Word

  1. ndnd9 says:

    Hello DonzWebb: I found your blog spot interesting. I opened to that same verse many years ago — and got a very different message. The message I got was that I should trust God with my meager finances by tithing from my gross receipts. As a result, I had to sublet the house I was renting. I didn’t get rich in money, but I embarked on a great adventure of studying and experimenting with God’s Laws. I’ve since written several books about Biblical law, Jesus’ secrets, how to keep the holy days, and answers to some popular theological questions. The books are in print from Amazon and e-books on Kindle, if you are interested. Best wishes to you for your own spiritual adventures. Nancy Dobson (The Gospel’s Message Within The Message might be of special interest to you.)

  2. donzwebb says:

    Hi Nancy,

    Thanks so much for stopping by and for sharing your story! I am looking forward to checking out your books. Thanks for your uplifting words and keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

