Happy Tuesday + Links I Love


man repeller 1Happy Tuesday, everyone and helloooo February! I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather lately — fighting a sore throat with cupfuls of tea and steaming bowls of chicken soup. As I type this, I am staring out Starbucks’ window at mountains of snow and sipping on Pineapple Kona Pop tea (I highly recommend you give it a try!).

If you’re hiding from the chilly temps and piles of snow, here’s a roundup of interesting reads to keep you company…

+ “I remember that day like it was yesterday. My cheeks still hurt from how hard I smiled.” Meghan Markle on the day she landed the role of Rachel Zane on the hit series, Suits.

+ “I thought that growing up means holding it all together, but I’m seeing now that it’s really only a great ability to let go.” Love all the beautiful truth in Amber’s post on what it really means to grow up.

+ Unparalleled bravery: “I don’t talk much about it, because if these people [Boko Haram] come back, I will be one of their first targets for helping girls to come back to school,” says this brave soul who fought to give the girls a second chance at education. Chibok girls who escaped Boko Haram return to school.

+ The coolest office tour with one of my favourites. The copper obsession is real.

+ “I adamantly didn’t want any of my editors or colleagues to know that I was pregnant until I could no longer hide it. I worried about being denied work or treated differently.” What Can a Pregnant Photojournalist Cover? Everything.

+ Bone broth 101: Melissa and Jasmine Hemsley school us on the latest superfood.

+ Today, Cup of Jo editor Caroline shared her beauty uniform on the blog.

+ The National Magazine Awards were handed out last night in New York. Vogue took home the night’s top award, Magazine of the Year.

+ Amanda Hess’ piece in The Pacific Standard, Why Women Aren’t Welcome on the Internet won in the Public Interest category that honours magazine journalism that sheds light on issues of national importance.

(Photo from Style Me Pretty Living)

Leave a Reply

