Happy Weekend + Links I Love


TLC

I hope you had a good week, friends. Are you ready for the weekend? Got any fun plans? Lately, I’ve developed a fondness for the used bookstore. You just never know what you’ll find. Yesterday, I picked up this book and I can’t wait to dive right in.

If you’re more interested in reading of the internet variety, cozy up with these reads I loved this week…

Must read: Anne’s incredibly moving and beautifully-written post, When we were in the fire.

+ After watching Bryan Stevenson’s engaging TED Talk, I knew I had to add the human rights lawyer’s new memoir, Just Mercy to my ever-growing 2015 reading list. A powerful, important and timely read.

+ For her latest installment of “My beauty uniform”, Joanna featured Brooklyn-based stylist and blogger LaTonya Yvette. On what she wants her children to learn: “I really believe that being a good person comes first. No one likes a cute kid with a nasty attitude. Be well mannered, humble and loving—and then you’re a beautiful person.” Love her!

+ More on true beauty: “We are kind, funny, smart, loving, thoughtful, compassionate, extraordinary people. We are loved and treasured for who we are inside.” God’s Masterpiece.

+ On the power of writing and editing: Writing Your Way to Happiness.

+ For the big kid: I loved Wallace and Gromit so I was thrilled to hear about its spin-off. Baa-hind the scenes on the Shaun the Sheep movie.

+ “What namers share is a love of words and a sensitivity to them, and they will tell you that that sensitivity is what separates them from amateurs.” The weird science of naming new products.

+ How to use a tea strainer: Because Elizabeth Bennet Never Used Bags.

+ The original girl group: Man Repeller interviewed TLC’s T-Boz and Chilli on their new album, Kickstarter, and Fans.

+ And this is still my favourite.

(Photo from Man Repeller)

Leave a Reply

