Happy Weekend + Links I Love


nicole franzen

Happy weekend, friends! I hope you had a great week and you’re ready to kick back and relax. Got any exciting weekend plans? This week, I made a serious dent in my winter reading list. I finally cracked open Cutting for Stone which I’ve been meaning to read for a while now.

At first, I got a bit bogged by all the detailed descriptions, but now I’m really getting into it. I admit I have a tendency to give up on a book if it doesn’t hold my interest after the first chapter. I’m happy I decided to stick with it. Have you read it? What did you think?

If you’re camping out on the couch this weekend, here’s a roundup of great reads for you to click through..

+ Calling all bookworms: This week, I joined the Modern Mrs. Darcy 2015 Reading Challenge on Pinterest. I am most excited about scoping out books originally written in another language. Thanks Anne!

+ Yesterday, I discovered photojournalist Lynsey Addario’s memoir, It’s What I Do: A Photographer’s Life of Love and War. It’s just one of the hundreds of incredible titles coming out this year.

+ Vanessa M. Gezari of the Columbia Journalism School had this to say in her review of Addario’s memoir. “The best stories and the best pictures are arguably always around the edges, in the private and intimate spaces where people live and adapt, suffering or thriving in war’s lurid half-light.”

+ Angie’s post, When you feel like you are the only one with yuck is a must read. Also, best blog post title ever.

+ Foodie craze: Bone Broth Evolves from Prehistoric Food to Paleo Drink. Seriously, what next?

+ “Bekka Palmer, a Brooklyn-based photographer, was paid to fly to Disneyland with her friends in exchange for posting pictures of her trip.” She’s one of the most pinteresting people in the world.

+ The Rumpus interviewed Canadian literary darling, Miriam Toews. Just this week, I added her latest All My Puny Sorrows to my 2015 reading list. I also need to read A Complicated Kindness and The Flying Troutmans. Have you read any?

+ A behind-the-scenes look at Rosamund Pike’s Vanity Fair shoot with Mario Testino.

+ This farewell post by Jen and Catherine over at The Single Diaries is so beautiful, inspiring and a bit sad. You will be dearly missed, ladies.

+ I discovered Sarah’s blog today. Particularly loved this post on her new-found fascination with science and the wonder of God. The constellations have always held a special place in my heart.

+ A super long, fascinating feature worth reading: 5,200 days in space. The International Space Station’s water-recycling system is out of this world. “An astronaut who mixes up an orange drink for breakfast on Monday morning and urinates on Monday afternoon can use that same water, newly purified, to mix a fresh drink on Thursday.”

Have a lovely weekend!

(Photo from Nicole Franzen Photography)

Leave a Reply

