Happy Weekend + Links I Love


christmas treeHappy Saturday everyone. This afternoon, I’ll be getting into the Christmas spirit with friends at the Toronto Christmas Market in the Distillery District. It’s my first time and I’m looking forward to taking in the gorgeous holiday lights, singing along with Christmas carolers, enjoying deep fried Belgian waffles and warm roasted chestnuts, and sipping on festive beverages (hot apple toddy and mulled wine, anyone?).

What’s everyone up to this weekend? If you need a break from all the holiday prep, why not click through these amazing links I came across this week…

+ “I know you are good. I know you are loving. I know you have not forgotten me in my waiting.” This post by Annie Downs, When waiting is a mess was just the reminder I needed.

+ On human rights: In her TED talk, How I defend the rule of law, Kimberley Motley, the only American lawyer practicing in Afghanistan’s courts shows how a country’s own laws can bring both justice and “justness”.

+ A cut above: “Whether I’m giving one at work or on the street, I think we can all relate to the haircut and how it makes us feel. We all know what it feels like to get a good haircut.” Mark Bustos, a hairstylist who provides free haircuts to the homeless on the New York streets.

+ On Tuesday, the Senate Intelligence Committee released its long-awaited report on the CIA’s use of torture during the Bush administration.

+ “Whenever I saw a fly in my cell, I was filled with joy. Although I would wish for it to slip from under the door so it would not be imprisoned itself.” Mohamed Bashmilah, who was wrongfully detained by the CIA, on his 19 months in solitary confinement. Amid details on torture, data on 26 who were held in error.

+ Loved this post by Kate, On the Vernacular of Good vs. Bad, Us vs. Them, In vs. Out.

+ “For tireless acts of courage and mercy, for buying the world time to boost its defenses, for risking, for persisting, for sacrificing and saving.” Time magazine editor Nancy Gibbs on why the publication chose the doctors and nurses fighting Ebola as its 2014 Person of the Year. Or in this case, ‘persons of the year’.

+ As a lover of all things dance, it was fun to get a behind-the-scenes look at the life of a Rockette.

+ Holiday dressing: Sequin striped shift dress, styled two ways.

Suit up: The Coveteur takes us inside Patrick J. Adams’ closet.

+ The ladies over at The Single Diaries make gift giving a breeze with this guide to gifting on the go.

+ Awards season kick off: The Golden Globe nominations were announced on Thursday morning. Happy about Rosamund Pike for Best Actress in a Drama, Steve Carell for Best Actor in a Drama and Viola Davis for Best Actress in a TV Drama.

Have a good one!

(Photo from This is Glamorous)

Leave a Reply

